Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 19, 2012

Forward-Looking Fitness

I’m SO happy it’s Thursday!  I finally get to put the worries of the week behind me and look forward to the weekend.  I actually have some things planned for both Friday (roomie’s birthday dinner) and Saturday (Jess’ wedding!).

As I mentioned yesterday, I’ve been thinking a little bit more about fitness; not only on a day-to-day basis, but also in terms of my goals for the near future (i.e. the 2nd half of 2012).  One of the things I love about having a healthy living blog, is that it has motivated me to step outside my same old workout routine and try new things.  Ever since my freshman year in college, I have stayed consistently active by going to the gym, taking classes and walking/running outside.  Having read about other bloggers’ experiences, I was always aware of other options (running races, CrossFit), but I was too intimidated to try them myself.  It wasn’t until after Sara Smiles came to be that I really wanted to join in on the fun!

Here are some examples:

What I’ve realized?  I love fitness “firsts!”  For the obvious reason, trying new workouts beats boredom, but it also gets me excited about exercise (and sometimes doesn’t even feel like exercise), and challenges my body to move in ways it’s not used to.

I also mentioned recently that I have been frustrated by my endurance (or lack there of) on my morning runs.  I never considered myself a “runner” until I started training for-and completed-my first 10K back in March.  Finishing that race was literally one of the best feelings of accomplishment I have experienced in a long time.  Not to mention it was fun!  Thousands of people on the side of the street cheering you on??  Talk about adrenaline.

The Filthy 5K Mud Run in which I participated back in May was also great.  Although less intense, and more for fun, I experienced those same feelings of accomplishment and community.  There is something to be said about running in a large group.  It relieves me of that “running for exercise” feeling that I dread sometimes.

Are you seeing a pattern here?  I want to run more races!  Today I took some time to look up upcoming 5K races in the Richmond area (I’m not ready to run another 10K yet), and stumbled across one next Saturday!

This race is dedicated to the memory of Dr. Peter Still. Peter was a scholar, gentleman, runner, and a friend to many. He passed doing what runner’s love, out on a morning run.  The proceeds of this race benefit the Richmond Road Runners Club Scholarship Fund. 

The Pony Pasture 5K is put on by Richmond Road Runners, which I just learned is one of the largest running clubs in the U.S.!  I had heard of it before, but never looked into it (well, because of my belief that “I’m not a runner”), but I am so glad I found it!  I have already registered for the Pony Pasture 5K, and will be looking for other races as well.  Plus, I donated a small amount to the scholarship fund, and what’s better than working out and giving back??

Speaking of other races…I found this little gem in my mailbox upon returning home from work:

What a coincidence…Sign me up!

What are your near-term fitness goals?  Do you like to try new exercises, or tend to stick with what you know?

Before I hit the hay, I have to share with you a recipe made all my own:

Pesto, White Bean Burgers

Makes 2 large, or 3 small burgers

  • 1 can white beans, drained
  • 2 T pesto
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 T worcestershire sauce
  • 1 T tahini
  • 1/3 c soy flour
  • ground pepper to taste

Add all ingredients (except the soy flour) in a large mixing bowl.

For the next step, I used a potato masher, but you could use a food processor or hand blender as well.

Mash ingredients together until well blended.  Slowly add in the flour and mix well (I used my hands), until a “dough” is formed.  Put in the refrigerator for the flavors to meld for 30 mins to an hour.

Heat a skillet over medium-high heat.  After making patties, cook 4 mins per side.

Serve!  I had mine on a sandwich thin with 1/2 mashed avodcado and lots of spicy brown mustard

I paired it with a side of raw veggies and a glass of one of my favorite Virginia wines: Barboursville Pinot Grigio

I hate to toot my own horn, but this burger was SO good!  I am so glad I have another to enjoy for lunch tomorrow!

Happy almost Friday-Goodnight!

Responses

  1. Do you think it would be fine to use rice flour? These look like some tasty veggie burgers.

    • I would think so. Next time, I’ll probably either use quinoa flour or grind 1/2c oats to make oat flour like I use when I make black bean burgers. Either way, they are delicious! I hope you try them and let me know what you think!

      • Will do! I think I will try them this week then. Thanks for the tips! I will try grinding the oats I think.

  2. Those burgers sound so good… definitely just wrote down the recipe 🙂

    My next fitness goal is to complete another half marathon in November, and then hopefully be ready for a full marathon in mid January. We’ll see though on the full marathon.. fingers crossed!!

    **Ah that is such a coincidence, and i’m sure you’ll rock that 5k 🙂

    • Good luck! I know you’ll be ready for a full marathon if you put your mind to it!

  3. […] my upcoming 5K on my mind, I took to the streets and complete 4 miles without stopping!  For all you runners out […]

  4. […] and bar crawls (I had to).  I’ve also never considered myself a “runner” until completing my first 10K in March.  All I know is that I really like exercise in my daily life, both for the physical and mental […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

