Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 20, 2012

Cooking with Cookbooks

Happy Friday everyone, and Happy Birthday to my beautiful sister Elizabeth!  I love you very much and am so grateful to have you in my life!

I love cookbooks.  Not only for the plethora of ideas compacted into a single item (the internet can get daunting!) but I honestly think it was ingrained in me from an early age.  My mom litterally has a culinary library at home, and the fact that she hadn’t even flipped through the latest birthday gift didn’t stop her from getting a new one.

I have found myself on the floor of Barnes & Noble with a pile of cookbooks beside me, skimming through each page, imagining myself creating and recreating the delicious recipes found inside.  Most of the time, I bite the bullet and buy it; other times I make mental notes search for similar dishes when I get home (hey, there’s no law).  I have been deterred from cookbooks recently however not only because every recipe I need is at the touch of a button, but because most nights, I’m cooking for one.  Whereas on the internet you can adjust the number of servings via a drop-down, cookbooks don’t have this feature, and it takes a bit on mental math.  I guess what it sounds like is that I’ve been too lazy to use my cookbooks!

That’s sad.  I have two on my shelf that I’ve been meaning to get inspired from.  I have even doggy-earred the meals I want to try!

For my birthday one year, my mom gave me this one:

Jewels and Jill Elmore are sisters and professional chefs (they even cook for Jennifer Aniston).  Based on their beliefs in clean eating and real ingredients, they offer a wide array of breakfasts, lunch, dinner, and sides options for every taste preference.  They even have a section when cooking for men and children.  I have made a couple of the recipes already; Jewel’s Favorite Soup that Jill Makes is a favorite of mine (and was even featured on Oprah).

Another one that I bought for myself is the Cooking with Trader Joe’s Cookbook

 

I have yet to cook with Trader Joe’s, and I’m a little upset about it.  There are so many meals that are right up my alley that I can’t wait to make.  Although TJ’s the store is a good 20 minutes away from me, I know the majority of the ingredients I can find at Ellwood’s (where else?).

So there is a long introduction to my main point: be looking for new cookbook-inspired recipes soon!

Workout/Breakfast

With my upcoming 5K on my mind, I took to the streets and complete 4 miles without stopping!  For all you runners out there, this might seem like child’s play, but after taking a hiatus from running recently, it was an accomplishment to me!  I cooled down and walked a mile before heading home.

Breakfast was another (especially delicious) Blueberry-Banana-Flax Protein Pancake

 

I think it’s because I added a lot of blueberries and an extra shake dash of cinnamon:

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 scoop brown rice protein powder
  • 1 T flax
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 2 T almond milk
  • cinnamon to taste
  • blueberries

Which I topped with a blob of sunbutter/walnut butter and banana slices

 

The butter blob is under there somewhere!

Breakfast is definitely my favorite meal of the day (if you can’t tell from my excitement everytime I write about it).  Claire is actually hosting “Breakfast Food Friday,” so head over to her blog and link up your breakfast food for the day!

 

Lunch

Spinach salad with cukes, peppers, grape tomatoes, 1/2 avocado, white-bean-pesto burger, with homemade balsamic vinaigrette

 

I made the dressing by mixing:

  • balsamic vinegar
  • EVOO
  • spicy mustard
  • lemon juice

Simple, yet satisfying.

Snacks

Afternoon snacks featured the following:

 

and a small bowl of cereal with dark chocolate chips and crunchy PB

 

I have to go get ready for my roomie/best friend’s birthday dinner at Mezzanine.  Look for a Richmond restaurant review tomorrow…have a good Friday night!

 

Responses

  1. That cereal bowl looks delicious! Have a wonderful time tonight @ dinner & enjoy the weekend 🙂

  2. […] cookbook.  I’m thinking about downloading the cookbook (because y’all know I love cookbooks).  It seems as if it would include a lot of simple, clean-eating recipes that are easy to […]

  3. […] new recipe for you.  I got some inspiration from the cookbook I told you about last week (The Family Chef), which features a lot of clean eating recipes.  I didn’t follow their […]

  4. […] had to think for a little bit about breakfast this morning.  I have had my fair share of blueberry-banana-flax protein pancakes recently, so I decided to switch it up a bit.  I added a new flavor to an old […]

  5. […] two mornings of OO, I have officially missed my blueberry-banana-flax pancakes.  Let’s just say I have two waiting for me in the fridge for Wednesday and […]

  6. […] Blueberry-Banana-Flax Protein Pancake; coffee […]

  7. […] Blueberry-banana-Flax protein pancake; coffee with almond milk […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

