Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 21, 2012

Food Group Fun

I had to share with you something I saw on the wall at Ellwoods earlier today.

 

 

It’s a nutritious chart that shows good sources for different vitamins, minerals, protein, fats, and fiber.  I stood there for a good 3 minutes looking at it (good thing no one was in line for the bathroom behind me!).  I ended up finding the entire chart online:

 

 

At greenleafy.org, there’s three featured items: the nutrition wall chart, a yoga wall chart, and a downloadable cookbook.  I’m thinking about downloading the cookbook (because y’all know I love cookbooks).  It seems as if it would include a lot of simple, clean-eating recipes that are easy to make.

I do think a lot about the nutritional benefits of each meal I eat.  I try to fill my diet with lots of fruits and vegetables, making sure I balance protein, fiber, and healthy fats.  Let’s take a look at today’s eats for instance:

Breakfast

Blueberry-Banana-Flax Protein Pancake

 

  • Blueberries (vitamin C & E)
  • Banana (Magnesium)
  • soy milk (protein, vitamin B12 & D)
  • walnut butter (healthy fats, protein, vitamin E)

*I know there are probably others, but these are just the highlights

Lunch

 

Green salad with spinach, chicken sausage, tomatoes, peppers, cukes, avocado; sweet potato

  • spinach (Vitamins E, K, A, B –> power house!)
  • avocado (Vitamins B, E, K)
  • chicken sausage (protein!)
  • sweet potato (fiber-good carb, magnesium, vitamins B6, C, A)

Not too shabby!  I’ve got to run and get ready.  I’m headed to a wedding in Charlottesville tonight.  Congrats to Jess and Owen!

Leave a Reply

Categories

