Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 21, 2012

Mmmezzanine

Happy Saturday morning!  Having already started my day with a quick 30 minute cardio workout at the gym, I’m in a very good mood.  Although I might be in the minority working out at 7AM on a Saturday morning (I woke up naturally a little after 6AM and allowed myself an extra 45 minutes of pillow time), it is amazing how much better I feel when I begin my day with a workout.  It makes me kind of want to laugh at the people who are hungover in bed (but I wouldn’t do that…)

I started off by doing 15 minutes on the elliptical followed by a 5 minute sprint with the jump rope.  I may or may not have gotten in a jump roping contest with my main man Donny (I once asked him if he lived in an apartment above the gym; he’s always there!).  I then finished up with 10 minutes on the bike while reading Real Simple.

Before heading to Barre, I wanted to give you a quick recap of my dinner last night.  My best friends Margaret and Polly and I ate at Mezzanine, which is centered around a “farm to table” approach.  Owner and chef Todd Johnson believes in bringing fresh, real ingredients from local farms, rivers, and oceans to his kitchen, and you can tell.  Everytime I’ve eaten there, I’ve left feeling healthy and happy.

 

Before ordering, I snacked on a sesame cracker.  I’m not positive, but they taste homemade

 

A couple of these guys were enjoyed over the course of the meal

 

For my meal, I started with a cup of the “special” soup: a chilled melon and cucumber soup drizzled with a watermelon gazpacho and topped with a goat cheese garnish.  Yes please!

 

This starter was so delicious and refreshing.  Pretty too.  It didn’t stay that way for long.

I then ordered the tuna and avocado taco small plate

 

I was a little surprised to find that the tuna was tempura-like.  I was looking forward to some fresh fish, but still good all the same.

And what’s a birthday dinner without a birthday dessert?  My roomie didn’t get to blow out any candles on her actual birthday, so I did something about that right away.

 

Yea, it was that good.

I’d be a lost soul without her…

 

Off to Barre, but I’ll be back!  Enjoy your day!

Leave a Reply

Categories

