Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 22, 2012

HDL 2012 Summer Wellness Games

Unfortunately, a light rain kept me from running outside today.  It was my plan to go on a short run, then head over to my roommates company picnic, which was right across the street (more in a bit).  I wanted to get some cardio in today in addition to barre class, so I quickly headed to the gym for a short 20-minute treadmill workout:

Time Speed Incline
0:00-2:00 4.5 1.0
2:00-3:00 6.0 1.0
3:00-4:00 7.0 1.0
4:00-6:00 4.5 3.0
6:00-7:00 6.3 1.0
7:00-8:00 7.1 1.0
8:00-9:00 4.5 3.0
9:00-10:00 4.5 6.0
10:00-11:00 6.3 2.0
11:00-12:00 7.1 2.0
12:00-14:00 4.6 4.0
14:00-15:00 4.6 8.0
15:00-17:00 6.0 2.0
17:00-18:00 7.1 2.0
18:00-20:00 4.5 2.0

 

I then made myself a quick lunch

Red Pepper hummus, avocado and arugula on whole wheat; apple slices with plain soy yogurt on top

I drove over to the Science Museum of Virginia where HDL’s event was being held.  My roommate recently got a job at Health Diagnostic Laboratory, Inc., and from what she has told me, it sounded like an amazing company.  Today, I got to see it in action.  To provide you with some background, HDL works in disease treatment for clients/patients with cardiovascular disease and other related illnesses.  It also stresses the importance of prevention through its wellness coaches, lab testing, etc.  From what I understand (it’s a tad complicated), the company is trying to work within its community (it’s currently expanding) to inform, prevent, and treat those with cardiovascular disease.  Being the #1 killer of women, I could not agree with its beliefs more!  So when my roommate asked if I wanted to come to HDL’s 2012 Wellness Games, I was in!

There were in fact games and other activities

Walking inside, there were food stations all around

Hell yeah you should!

I had just eaten at home, so I just walked around and observed everything.  I loved that there were “Wellness Tips” posted around the room.  Everyone needs all the education they can get!

All of a sudden, a man on a microphone calls everyone to the center of the room while “Call me Maybe” starts playing over the loud speaker…

What’s going on??

What are they doing?

FLASH MOB!

That was pretty cool.  I left on that note and went to barre class (class 12 of the barre star challenge!  8 more classes to go!).

One question for ya before I go…where has coconut butter been all my life?!  Have you tried it?

I’ve seen it in some blogs, but never thought to buy it for myself, until I saw a to-go packet of the stuff at Ellwood’s.  Coconut has become one of my favorite flavors recently, so I bit the bullet and bought it.  Sooo glad I did.  I incorporated it into my post-barre snack.

It started with one of these

to put together this

Nothin’ but nature…LOVED these bars!

Time to go see my fam for Sunday night dinner.  Have a good rest of your Sunday!

Responses

  1. […] skim over my lunch and afternoon snack.  They were repEATS from yesterday, but delicious all the […]

  2. […]  But then I could also write about my newfound love affair with coconut butter, and how I want and need its nutrients in my life.  I had seen it around the blog world before, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

