Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 22, 2012

Wedding Weekend

Good Morning!  Or I should say good afternoon…I just looked at the clock and it’s noon already?!  I guess that’s what I get for sleeping in today (i.e. 10AM), but it was needed and well-deserved if I should say so myself.

I hope everyone had a wonderful Saturday night.  Yesterday around 3PM, Patrick and I headed up to Charlottesville for a wedding.  I lived with my friend Jess during my senior year of college; she was dating her boyfriend (now husband) Owen at the time, so I was happy to be apart of their special day.

The wedding didn’t start until 5:30PM but Patrick and I wanted to head up early to grab a drink on “the Corner.”  On the way there, I snacked on a new bar I found and wanted to try (sorry for the bluriness; cameras and cars don’t agree with me)

 

Patrick immediately looks at it and asks, “is that bird food?” (before grabbing a piece of course).  It could’ve been, but as a hungry human, it did the trick.  Made with only real, raw ingredients, it satisfied me and kept me full.  I also like the chewy, nutty texture.

I went to college in Charlottesville (University of Virginia), so of course I wanted to hit up one of my favorite spots

 

My old stompin’ grounds

 

 

I spent many ‘a nights in this bar.  Oh college…

 

 

We ordered a couple of beers and caught up.  He had been at the beach with a family friend for the past 4 days, so I was a happy girl to see him

Devil’s Backbone Vienna Lager for me, an IPA for him

 

We walked over to the wedding which was being held at UVa’s chapel.  The ceremony was short and sweet, which meant party time!

 

The reception was held at the beautiful Keswick Country Club, which overlooks the Blue Ridge Mountains

 

 

 

 

There were buffet centers galore featuring crab cakes, risotto, hand-rolled sushi, you name it.  I tried a bit of everything.  After getting down on the dance floor for a couple of songs, it was time for us to head home.

After a good 10 hour sleep (yes!), I woke up this morning pretty hungry.  A big, fluffy, Blueberry-Banana Flax Protein Pancake was calling my name

 

How I (strategically) eat my protein pancakes

 

How many bites does it take to get to the nut butter center of a protein pancake?  Save the best for last!

Now I’m headed out for a run, my roommate’s company picnic (Health Diagnostics Laboratory is an amazing organization-can’t wait to share it with you!), barre class, then Sunday night dinner.  Have a good day!

Responses

  1. Aww you look so pretty! I miss C-Villeeeee!!!

  2. […] weird is that!? Do you know what that is?  I would have had NO idea if Polly hadn’t told me it was an eggplant.  Yes, that my friends is an eggplant.  Yesterday while […]

  3. […] This is going to be a short post because I just got back from dinner with my best friend Polly, and after chatting the night away (and a super long day at work) I’m ready to hit the hay. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

