Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 23, 2012

RepEATS and a NEW Recipe Too

Happy Monday (is almost over) to all!  I hope everyone had a good day.  I tried to make the most of my Monday, but I didn’t have a lot to work with…it was quite uneventful.  Here are some highlights:

  • Really good OO this morning.  I made my usual blueberry-banana bowl, but added 2 T of soy yogurt to the mix.  It tasted like blueberry muffin cake (if you can imagine).

 

  • On that note, while my OO were great at the time, this breakfast lasted me a mere 2 hours.  I missed my protein pancake and the feeling of fullness it provides me throughout the morning.  However, I went with the oats today for convenience, because I had to be at work 30 minutes early (and the rest of the week thereafter).  SO another highlight was pre-made blueberry-banana-flax protein pancakes for tomorrow.  This just happened to be the first thing I did after work today.  Yep, I missed them that badly…

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • I’ll skim over my lunch and afternoon snack.  They were repEATS from yesterday, but delicious all the same:

avocado, arugula, hummus sandwich on whole wheat; side of raw veggies

 

 

Raw granola bar with coconut butter on top

 

 

  •  Looking up and seeing my crazy co-worker playing dress up

 

Monkeys I tell you…

Seared Tuna Salad

  • Mixed greens
  • 8-oz pice of ahi tuna
  • vegetables of choice (as a shortcut, I loaded up on veggies from my grocery store’s salad bar: tomatoes, cukes, broccoli, celery, etc.)
  • wasabi peas
  • EVOO
  • salt
  • pepper
  • black sesame seeds

Dressing (I didn’t measure, FYI, but added a couple glugs of each):

  • rice vinegar
  • sesame oil
  • spicy mustard
  • lite sodium soy sauce

Coat the tuna in salt, pepper, and black sesame seeds.  Heat a skillet over medium-high heat.  Once hot, at 1 T EVOO and sear tuna 2 mins on each side (shorter/longer for a more rare/cooked tuna steak).  While the tuna cools, mix greens and vegetables with dressing.  Serve.

 

Voila!

 

First of all, I must say that this was one of the best homemade salads I’ve had in a while.  There is something to be said for a dressing that branches you out of the boring “balsamic drizzle.”  Secondly, I don’t know if I’ve ever cooked Tuna myself, but this was sooo easy! I urge you to try it.

Which protein do you find yourself cooking the most?  What’s the hardest/easiest protein you’ve prepared?

Goodnight!

 

Responses

  1. […] to worry about making my protein pancakes before heading off to work.  As I told you yesterday, I made them in advance the night before.  All I had to do was grab them out of the fridge on the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

