Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 25, 2012

WIAW: Full of Fitness; Vegetables, Not So Much

Welcome to another Wednesday!  I feel like this week is flying by.  I am glad today is almost over though; I had a little bit of a tough day at work.  Working in the industry that I do however, I’ve grown quite a thick skin, and more often than not, you allow negative comments/experiences to roll off your back.

I was recently talking to a friend of mine about “run-ins” with co-workers.  What I have learned about life is that no matter how nice you are, how sweet and hard-working, or how good your intentions, you will inevitably come across those people who try to bring you down.  Whether it be their insecurity, jealousy, or mere unhappiness that drives their negative behavior, these people do exist.  I’ve met my fair share.  I’ve blogged about this before, but it is a major reason why I work out in the mornings, despite it being 5AM.  Not only does it get my body moving and blood flowing (physical benefit), but it also gets my serotonin going (mental benefit).  Therefore, I am able to face whatever comes my way after having already blown off some stress.  Remember, I’m just a happier person when I work out.  And that my friends, is my motivation.  If you would like to see other motivational tips to get your exercise on, check out Jenn’s WIAW post!  It could help if you’re finding yourself in a fitness rut!

Speaking of, I started out my day with a (short) cardio workout at the gym.  I was a little late this morning because as soon as I opened my front door, this lil’ guy popped around the corner

This is Lucky (named right then and there), the black cat that hangs around my building because my neighbor feeds him (her?).  You’ve seen him/her here before.  I’ve never been a cat person, but I am an animal person, and there was no bypassing him without giving some lovin’

This has been my second day in a row with an animal encounter during my morning workout (yesterday I saved a bunny rabbit on my walk-long story…)

I went on my way and did 20 minutes on the stair stepper machine:

A couple of minutes with the jump rope, and then a 10 minute interval session on the treadmill (walking at 4.5/running at 7.3 each minute at a 2.0 incline).

I also took the stairs at work, which equates to about 5 flights (!).  This is progress people.  I need to do this more often.

A Barre class was also in there somewhere…my day was full of fitness!

On the fitness front…who’s excited for the Olympics this weekend?!

On to the eats:

Breakfast

2 small blueberry-banana-flax protein pancakes, made with coconut milk (instead of my usual splash of soy).  I topped it with a combo blob of sunbutter and almond butter, 1/2 banana, sliced, and cinnamon

 

Lunch

Left-over Perfect Pizza from last night; apple

 

 

 

Before barre, I drank a green smoothie (frozen strawberries, apple, soy yogurt, coconut milk, spinach)

 

 

I swear that’s not a shot glass.

Dinner

Baked sweet potato topped with a fried egg (1 egg white, 1 whole egg); spinach tossed in this dressing

 

Funny story behind the idea for this meal.  As I was taking a break from work, eating my lunch, and reading some blogs, I stumbled across Sunnie’s WIAW post.  Since I was browsing on my iPhone, I mistook 2 slices of bread in the photo for halves of a sweet potato.  I even commented that I loved her idea!  When I went back to her post (on my laptop) I realized that no, in fact it wasn’t a sweet potato topped with a fried egg and avocado…but that is what I definitely want for dinner!  I’ll probably even have this again.

P.S. My Almond-Coconut Energy Bars turned out!  I was nervous that they wouldn’t harden correctly, but they did, and they were delicious.  I had one for a mid-afternoon snack at work, and although they were a little too sweet (never thought I’d say those words), I was quite pleased.

 

 

 

 

**I would highly suggest adding dark chocolate chips to these bars (which might sound counterintuitive since I just said they were too sweet, but I think it would be a nice addition).  I will most likely do that next time, and you can bet there will be a next time!

On that note, my goal for tomorrow is to eat more vegetables.  They were kind of lacking today.  I did eat lots of spinach (on my pizza, in my pre-barre green smoothie, as a side for dinner); maybe I should say I lacked a variety of vegetables.  Good thing I have a big salad packed and ready to go for tomorrow!  It all balances out in the end, is what I always say.

Before I go, I would just like to say congratulations to Laura Lea for getting into culinary school!  I am so happy for you and know you will succeed.  It is clearly your passion.  Can’t wait to see what you can do! xoxo

Goodnight!

Responses

  1. Thanks for shout out lovie!!! So flippin excited!

  2. Your food looks so good girl!! I need to try those pancakes!

  3. Now I want pancakes, a green smoothie and one of those bars. Lovely WIAW my dear! 🙂

  4. Now I want a green smoothie, pancakes and one of those bars. yum! lovely WIAW, my dear! 🙂

    • I don’t know what I would do without those pancakes in my life!

  5. […] 1/2 of an Almond-Coconut Energy Bar […]

  6. […] also included the last little half of an Almond-Coconut Energy Bar for the sweet […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

