Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 27, 2012

Hurray for Fitness and All That It Implies

 

This really made my day today.  When I see custom Google banners, I usually hover my cursor over the image to see what it means.  “Hurray for Sports” immediately popped up, and I was once again reminded of the global event that as about to take place.  With everything negative that happens in our world, the Olympic Games are one of the few that unites us as one.  “Hurray” doesn’t do it justice.

While I’ve played my fair share of sports in the past (lacrosse, field hockey, tennis, swimming, track, soccer), I’ve had a hard time considering myself an athlete ever since graduating high school.  College activity was characterized by daily visits to the gym, step class, and bar crawls (I had to).  I’ve also never considered myself a “runner” until completing my first 10K in March.  All I know is that I really like exercise in my daily life, both for the physical and mental aspects.

Pay attention to the word daily because taking a day off doesn’t come easily to me.  I work out first thing in the morning (5AM) for a reason.  It sets my day off right and gets the endorphins going.  I’m gradually learning to take a rest day from exercise and not only not feel guilty about it, but appreciating the relaxation and rehabilitation.  Take today for example; I didn’t get to bed until after 11PM last night, so waking up at 4:45 AM this morning wasn’t an option for me.  I had anxiety about it for about 5 seconds then made myself get over it.  I knew I was running a 5K tomorrow morning and that exercise wouldn’t fall off the cliff.  I would pick it right back up the next day because my bib number tells me so

 

 

 

The Pony Pasture 5K is going to be fun and I can’t wait.

Do you ever feel guilty for not working out?  How do you deal?

I even went about my day as normal, enjoying some good eats along the way

Breakfast

 

 

Snack

 

 

 

Lunch

 

 

 

 

Happy Hour

 

 

(even happy hour!) and life goes on…

…I’m off to watch the Opening Ceremonies.  Have a good weekend!

 

Responses

  1. Sometimes I feel guilty if I skip a workout.
    Honestly, if my gut feels like I need a rest day planned or not, I get over it pretty darn easy.
    If I’m just being lazy
    A) Sometimes it’s good to feel guilty for bing lazy
    B) Sometimes it’s good to be a normal person and BE lazy sometimes 🙂

    • I totally agree! 95% of the time, I want to work out; i crave it! but if i absolutely don’t want to, that’s my body’s way of telling me to take a break. I always try and embrace it and know that I will pick it right back up the next day

  2. I think practice helps…I used to feel guilty about taking days off, but when I realized I was hurting my body (just in my sitch, not that you are at all), I FORCED myself to work out less. It was tough at first, but after a while I recognized that there’s always going to be another opportunity, and I started really enjoying my rest days.


Leave a Reply

Categories

