Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 28, 2012

Pony Pasture 5K

Fwew, I’m beat!  I’ve had quite the fitness-filled Saturday morning, and now I can’t move off my couch.  And that is more than fine with me!  Now I can sit back and watch those Olympians kick some butt on TV and relax.  I hope your day has been off to a healthy, happy start as well, and if not, the day is far from over!

I woke up bright and early this morning, around 6AM.  Although I went to bed around 9PM last night, I didn’t trust myself to just wake up, so I made sure to set an alarm.  I also wanted to make sure to eat a good breakfast to fuel me for the 5K

Blueberry-Banana-Chia Protein Pancake

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 scoop brown rice protein powder
  • 1/2 banana, mashed
  • 2 T coconut milk
  • 1 T chia
  • cinnamon
  • blueberries
  • 1/2 banana sliced
  • sunbutter/almond butter combo blob

I ate this meal about an hour before the race, and it did the trick.  I probably could have gotten away with something smaller, but I knew it was going to be a while before I was able to eat again, so chose to go heartier.

I didn’t get any pictures before or during the race because I left my iPhone in the car, but basically this was my view from the trail.  So calming, right?

I did manage to snap one afterwards

Hot, sweaty mess.  I ran the 3.1 miles in 28:30!! That, my friends, is a little over a 9-minute mile.  I was by no means in it for the “race” or to run it in a certain time; I just love running with a big group of people, who are all there for the same reason, because it’s energizing and fun.  But, that being said, I was proud of my time all the same, because I consider myself a slow runner (usually I pace a 10-11 minute mile), so doing the 5K in under 30 minutes was an accomplishment for me.  Woo!

Also, if you’re interested in a good 5K playlist, this was my line-up:

  • Lights; Ellie Goulding
  • Want U Back; Cher Lloyd
  • Wide Awake; Katy Perry
  • Whistle; Flo Rida
  • Blow Me; Pink
  • Titanium; David Guetta & Sia
  • Scream; Usher
  • Everybody Talks; Neon Trees

An hour and a half after finishing the run, I found myself in barre class.  I normally wouldn’t have doubled-down like this; the 5K would have made for a good, sufficient workout for a Saturday morning, but I’ve gotta get those tallies!

This was #16 in the “20 classes in 30 days” barre star challenge.  4 more to go!  Due to the July 4th holiday (and my instructor being out of town for a couple of days), I have until next Saturday to finish, and I think I might just make it…

A green smoothie was on my mind during right after class.  I was feeling tropical (maybe because it’s 100 degrees outside?!)

Tropical Green Smoothie

  • Frozen strawberries
  • 1 mango, sliced
  • 1/3 c coconut milk
  • 1/4 c soy yogurt
  • 2 big handfuls of spinach
  • 1/2 of an Almond-Coconut Energy Bar

So good!

Patrick and I are headed to lunch and then to his parents’ farm in Farmville, VA (original right?) for some R&R.  Have a good rest of your weekend!  See you Sunday!

Do you run races?  If so, do you try and compete (against yourself and others) or run for fun?   What is your favorite thing about running in a race?

Responses

  1. Great job!!

    love always, http://www.balancedpeanut.com

  2. Great job on getting in 2 awesome workouts yesterday morning! You’re awesome 🙂 That Green Smoothie sounds delicious too btw.

    Yes, I run races. If I’m running with a group, I’ll run for fun. Although when it comes to marathons, I always try to PR.

    • Yea, I guess marathons are a different story! Not sure if I’ll ever get there though

  3. Awesome job on those workouts! And that first recipe sounds so tasty too, saved for sure 🙂

    • Thanks Tessa! It was definitely an active morning, but very worth it.

  4. […] was the best meal at the time, because I was hungry after my very active morning.  I took my eyes straight to the sandwich section, and ordered the “10K” […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

