Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 29, 2012

Some R&R and a Hike at High Bridge Park

It’s back to reality after a full 24 hours of a relaxing good time up in Farmville, VA.  Patrick and I both had a hankering to get out of Richmond for the night, so we took advantage of a free place to stay at his parents’ farm.  We hardly did anything but cook dinner, watch the Olympics, and take it really easy.  Recharge if you will.

On our way out of town, we headed to a near-by lunch spot for a quick bite to eat.  The name of the restaurant?  “Lunch.” Cute.

 

If you ask me, breakfast is the best meal of the day, but I guess no one did…ask me…

It was the best meal at the time, because I was hungry after my very active morning.  I took my eyes straight to the sandwich section, and ordered the “10K” on multi-grain bread

Grilled chicken, roasted red peppers, avocado, spinach, pesto (hold the provolone)

 

 

Patrick ate all my chips, but that was OK with me because I’m not a plain potato chip person.  I also had a water and a Blue Moon (why not?).

We drove on down to Farmville.  He took me around to see some parts of the town I hadn’t seen yet.  It’s where Longwood University is located, and since my mom went to there for college, it was neat to see the campus.

 

Yep, we’re in Farmville…

 

 

 

 

We’re in the country, y’all.

After a stop at the grocery store for some dinner goods, we went to the house.

I really allowed myself to relax.  One of my favorite past times is probably sitting on a porch with a glass of wine in hand (I’m pretty easy to please).  And pleased I was

 

 

 

Appeteazer: now these chips are anything but plain

 

 

 

Dinner:

Turkey burgers with feta (inside), roasted asparagus, cous-cous, baked sweet potato (for me-I can’t get enough!)

 

I fell asleep pretty early once again.  I can now say for certain that I am rested (great feeling).  It also allowed me to enjoy my morning, which is one of my favorite times of day.

 

Wine, coffee…anything is better on a porch!

Breakfast was the best I could do given the selection at the Farmville Kroger.

Special K Protein Plus, Chobani plain greek yogurt, Barney Almond Butter, banana 

 

While I was disappointed I couldn’t find Kashi GoLean anywhere (where was I??), I looked at some labels and picked what I thought was best.  This Special K had 10g of protein, 5g of fiber, and only 2g of sugar.  I didn’t see the high fructose corn syrup amongst the ingredients until later, but other than that, not bad!

 

 

 

 

To round out our trip, we wanted to be a little active.  We saw the recently renovated walking bridge at High Bridge Park featured in the local paper, and thought it would be cool to check it out.

 

It used to be an old railroad bridge that was burnt down by Union soldiers in the civil war.  It was rebuilt in 1865, and up until 5 years ago, remained in use.  After the railroad stopped being used, a walking trail was built, and has only been open since April.

 

A walk with a view

 

 

As soon as I arrived home, I threw together a quick lunch.  I was quite hungry, and on the brink of a hunger-induced ‘tude as Patrick would say (I don’t think he was sad to see me go at this time)

Collard green wrap with a sundried tomato lentil burger from Ellwoods, 1/2 avocado, spicy mustard, and another tropical green smoothie (this time made with frozen peaches, frozen blueberries, apple slices)

 

Now I’m going to savor the rest of my Sunday and do some more relaxing (after barre class).  Hope you had a good weekend!

How do you relax?

Responses

  1. Your sandwich toppings and my burger toppings are almost twins! Great combo. Why no provolone?! Cheese is the best part!

    • You’re right, cheese is the best part, when it’s the right kind of cheese! I don’t think provolone has much flavor, and the pesto would have just masked it anyway. If you asked me, the sandwich should have been made with feta or goat cheese, but again, no one asked me!


Leave a Reply

Categories

