Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 31, 2012

Collard Green Smoothie

Over the past couple of weeks, I have become quite reliant on my pre-barre green smoothies.  Today however, I ran out of spinach, and not wanting to take another trip to the grocery store, I took a giant leap of faith and used collard greens instead.

 

I had no idea how it was going to taste, as collards have more of a bitterness to them in my opinion.  In other words, they go well with savory, but I was unsure of with sweet.

Collard Green Smoothie

  • Frozen peaches
  • blackberries
  • 1/3 c soy yogurt
  • 1/3 c coconut milk
  • 1 small handful of spinach
  • 1 collard greed

 

 

Not bad!  I could definitely taste the collard greens though; it wasn’t as masked than if I had used spinach or kale.  But, that being said, I really liked how healthy it tasted.  I will definitely use this combo again.

What’s your favorite “green” to use in your smoothies?  What’s your favorite green smoothie recipe in general?

Before I head to Barre, I will share with you my other eats from today:

Breakfast

Another BBF Protein Pancake.  Consider this a staple

 

 

 

Lunch

I had a doctor’s appointment mid-day, so I was able to stop by Ellwood’s on my way back to the office (I know, I know, when I said wean, I meant wean…slowly!)

Garden Hummus Wrap (with extra hummus to spread on top); peach

 

Those wraps never have enough!

 

Snack

Almond-Coconut Energy Bar (last one) with almond butter

 

 

 

Have a good rest of your evening!  I’m headed to barre class (#19…almost there!) and then a movie night with Patrick.  Salmon Fishing in the Yemenhas anyone ever seen it?

 

Responses

  1. All of your meals look delicious girl, esp. your lunch 🙂 I used to love putting spinach in my smoothies, but lately I haven’t been in the mood for it. I’m not sure why, maybe I’ll start adding some again soon 🙂

    Have a wonderful day!

    • Thanks Jessie! I can’t (i.e. don’t want to) drink a smoothie anymore unless it has something green in it. Maybe I’ll get sick of it soon, but I don’t think so!

      • Ha Ha, I hope you don’t for your sake & the extra nutrients it supplies 🙂

  2. […] Collard-Green Smoothie, Pretzel Crisps with hummus […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

