Posted by: saramcglothlin | August 1, 2012

WIAW: Rabbit Rabbit

Does anyone else say “rabbit rabbit” on the first day of the month?  If you’ve never heard of it, supposedly if “rabbit rabbit” are the first two words you say when you wake up (or when the clock strikes midnight if you’re a night owl) on the first day of the month, you will have good luck for the entire month.  I’ve been abiding by this superstition ever since I was a little girl; my mom would even wake me up by whispering it in my ear every month to make sure I remembered.  I even went so far to thinking that if I said it at 12 midnight on New Year’s Eve, I would have good luck for the entire year.  I must have stepped on a couple of cracks throughout those years as well, because that never was the case.

Sooo Happy August! It also happens to be another WIAW, and technically the last month of the summer, which is very hard to believe.  This summer has flown by, and I think I can count on one hand the number of days I laid out in the sun (my skin will thank me later).

It was a huge coincidence for me to see on Jenn’s blog (thanks for hosting!) that the theme this month is “Summer Staples.”  I was talking with a coworker over my lunch break today, and as I was cutting my peach, and she her heirloom tomato, we both agreed how much we love summer and the wonderful produce it provides.  Best season for fruits and vegetables.  Hands-down.  You can see some evidence of it here!

 

 

 

Workout/Breakfast

It was raining a little bit this morning, so I headed to the gym for a quick cardio session:

  • Elliptical-15 minutes
  • Stationary Bike-20 minutes
  • Jump Rope-5 minutes
  • Stretching

Very Berry-Banana-Flax Protein Pancake

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 scoop brown rice protein powder
  • 1/2 banana mashed
  • cinnamon
  • 1 T flax
  • 2 T coconut milk
  • blueberries AND blackberries

I then topped it with an almond/walnut butter combo blob, 1/2 sliced banana, more blackberries and cinnamon

 

No syrup needed!

Mid-morning snack

 

 

Lunch

Collard-Green Wrap with an ET’s sun-dried tomato lentil burger, 1/2 avocado, brown mustard; peach

 

 

 

 

 

 

*P.S. I have made it my August goal to refrain from shopping at Ellwood’s.  The sun-dried tomato lentil burger you see above was purchased yesterday, so consider this the first day of my personal challenge.  I calculated how much I spent there over the past month, and it was way too high.  I want to still support “eating local” in the near future, but I do want to see how much I save by using a conventional grocery store.  Not until afterwards will I gradually incorporate ET’s back into my life.  That’s that…

 

Lunch also included the last little half of an Almond-Coconut Energy Bar for the sweet tooth

 

 

 

Mid-afternoon snack

 

Pre-Barre snack (not to be confused with “mid-afternoon snack”)

Collard-Green Smoothie, Pretzel Crisps with hummus

 

Post-barre, I toasted to myself for finishing the Barre Star Challenge (20 classes in 30 days, baby!).  More on that and my winnings this weekend.

 

Dinner

Pesto arugula salad with scallops, sun-dried tomatoes, and goat cheese

 

For the salad:

  • Arugula (I also threw in some spinach to “thicken” it up)
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1/4 c sun-dried tomatoes
  • goat cheese to taste
  • 4-5 sea scallops
  • EVOO
  • salt & pepper

For the dressing

  • 1.5 T pesto
  • balsamic vinegar

Prepare salad with every ingredient up to the scallops.  Heat a skillet over medium heat.  Coat scallops in EVOO, salt, and pepper, and cook 3 minutes per side.    Mix pesto and balsamic vinegar and toss to coat.  Once scallops are cooked, serve over greens.

I also had a small bowl of pureed winter squash.  Not too much of a “summer staple,” but I’ve always had a thing for irony

 

What’s your favorite dish in the summertime?

One of mine is gazpacho, and I’ve been inspired to share that with you soon!  I have a simple, no-fail recipe.  Stay tuned!

 

Responses

  1. hahaha, i’ve never heard of “rabbit rabbit”. I’ll have to remember that for next month (you may or may not have to remind me 🙂 ). As usual, all of your meals look delicious girl. I rarely ever eat scallops since the hubs isn’t a big fan. I suppose I could always eat them on salads over lunch though whiles hes at work?? 🙂

  2. I have never heard of the rabbit rabbit, but I just may have to start doing this! I love your meals – you eat so well and so clean.. the salad with scallops is right up my alley. I also love the idea of the collard greens wrap!!

    • You will never forget it now! Thank you…I always try and eat as clean as I can. I was afraid of the collard wrap at first, but then once I tried it, I realized that I like collard greens!

  3. […] 3. I’m very superstitious.  I can never bypass a penny if it’s on heads, not even when a car is about to run me over (true story).  I also have to kiss the clock every time it reads 11:11 and say “rabbit rabbit” on the first day of every month. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

