Posted by: saramcglothlin | August 2, 2012

Will CrossFit For Beer

There’s lots going on today!  For one it’s Thursday, which means it’s almost Friday (woohoo!); I completed my 2nd CrossFit class tonight (Fundamentals #3–clearly I had to do my 5 Fundamental classes out of order); and it’s National IPA Day!

While “Go Drink Beer” may not be a mantra commonly used among healthy-living bloggers, there is nutritional value found in beer, believe it or not.

According to Livestrong, “IPAs generally contain a large amount of pale hops…[which] are natural plant products and provide a rich source of vitamins and minerals.  The yeast content in beer contributes a small dose of protein.” *a Plus…

Men’s Health says that the hops flower is “also a significant source of cholesterol-lowering, cancer-fighting, and virus-killing compounds called polyphenols. What’s more, ‘Just one 12-ounce beer a day decreased fibrinogen, a clotting factor, and increased albumin, which is very important for protein metabolism.'”

So, there ya go!  All the more reason to celebrate.  But don’t let the bubbly get to your head; remember, moderation is key!  #pleasedrinkresponsibly.

CrossFit Fundamentals #3

CrossFit was quite the challenge for me, but like they say, “if it’s easy, it isn’t crossfit.”  After warming-up, our instructor James showed us the “goblet squat.”  Think squats, while holding the “horns” of a kettle ball:

Looks simple enough, but remember, repetition is the name of the game in crossfit; after about 10 of these, I started to get a little shaky…

We then moved on to learn the fundamentals of the push press and pull-up.  I can’t do a pull-up to save my life, so when it was my time to try, I just sort of hung there.  However, instead of getting discouraged, I just laughed at myself, and then made it a personal goal to one day complete a non-assisted pull-up.  Until then, I used the bands they have on hand (which you strap under your foot to make yourself “lighter”) and was able to do the exercise with ease.  The conditioning portion called for 10 push presses and 10 pull-ups in as many rounds as possible (AMRAP) in 10 minutes.

I even finished with the most completed sets! Albeit, I did have the most help from the bands, but still, I’ll wear those 4 dash marks with pride!

One thing that I do love about crossfit is the sense of community.  Even those that are not in your class are in the background cheering you on.  I got a big thumbs-up from Brandon, that’s for sure

Patrick and I are heading to Caliente for some dinner and drinks (beer).  We did have reservations to eat at Julep’s, a very nice Southern-style restaurant here in town, but after hearing about National IPA Day, it made me want to cancel the fancy restaurant and celebrate in style (casually).

Cheers!

 

Responses

  1. Great job tonight! So nice to meet you (and Kate)! I’m looking forward to perusing your recipe area….always looking for fun healthy (and easy?!) foods. Maybe see you soon. Jess (a.k.a. Jen)

    • Nice to meet you too! I’m glad you found me…I’m always trying to think up and recreate easy, healthy recipes (I don’t have time for long and complicated!) so keep reading and let me know if you ever try any!

  2. Since getting a stress fracture in my foot, what I really miss about running is the sense of community.
    I’ve been thinking more and more about cross fit while in recovery so I love hearing the impressions of someone just getting into it as opposed to most people who are already ingrained in it.

    • Running injuries are the worst! I hope it heals fast. I was very intimidated by crossfit at first, but it’s actually really fun! It’s almost like an adult’s field day, with different “events” (and weight-lifting if that makes sense). I’m just starting out and having fun with it; I don’t take it sooo serisouly, although believe you me, I WILL complete an unassisted pull-up!

  3. Hey you! I nominated you for the Liebster award! Check out my post for details! http://committed2nutrition.com/2012/08/03/liebster-award-post-happy-friday/

    • Eva, thank you so much! That means so much to me! I’m going to check it out right now!

  4. […] night was a lot of fun though.  As I mentioned, it was National IPA Day (I think I’m the only one who cared about that, let alone knew about it!), so we walked up the […]

  5. […] come as easily as yesterday’s, For one thing, I was extremely sore when I woke up from Thursday’s crossfit.  I wonder why it took 3 days to hit me?  But that was just my arms and shoulders.  My legs […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

