Posted by: saramcglothlin | August 3, 2012

Thursday Night Out, Friday Night In

Happy weekend!  If I go out on a Thursday night these days, believe you me, I will likely be staying in on Friday.  My body just can’t take two nights in a row anymore.  And considering the fact that I didn’t even really “go out” but would consider it a low-key evening with a few beers along the way.  How did I do it in college?

Last night was a lot of fun though.  As I mentioned, it was National IPA Day (I think I’m the only one who cared about that, let alone knew about it!), so we walked up the street to Caliente.  Patrick and I both googled something along the lines of “good beer in Richmond, VA” and Caliente came up for both of us.  So when he suggested it, I knew it would not disappoint in either the dinner or drinks arena.

I had thought served primarily Mexican food, but was reminded once I looked at the menu that it offers more along the lines of Caribbean fare.

First thing’s first…Stone IPA 

 

We started off with the Blackened Tuna Bites, which came with a sriracha aioli.  Oh my goodness these were amazing!  You can tell that we devoured half of them before I could even take a picture.  Sometimes tuna bites can be so wrong, and if these were wrong, I don’t wanna be right, because they were so flavorful and cooked to perfection!

For my entrée, I ordered the black bean quesadilla.  Simple but delicious

They didn’t have salsa or guacamole (me. rock. hard place.) but they brought me a side of sliced avocado and “housemade” pineapple salsa.  I swear it was just canned pineapple sprinkled with some cilantro.  A little bit of a bummer but good nonetheless (i.e. I still ate the whole thing).

Patrick and I then went around to two more bars for a couple more beers then called it a night.  We made it home in time to see Gabby get the Gold!  Go U.S.A!

Today was probably the busiest day at work I’ve had all week, and given the beers I drank last night my little-later-than-normal bed time,  I was tired and couldn’t wait for 4 PM to roll around.  Patrick is out of town this weekend, so I knew I was going to have a quiet night of me-time.  I thought looong and hard about the perfect me-meal to cook.

Quinoa Black Bean Sweet Potato Patties

Mouthful ain’t it?  More like a mouthful of awesomeness!  If you like any or all of the foods/flavors I’m about to disclose, please try these!

Makes 2 patties

  • 1 c black beans
  • 1 small sweet potato, diced
  • 1 c cooked quinoa
  • 1 T tahini
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 T EVOO

Boil sweet potatoes until tender.  Place all ingredients in a large bowl (or food processor) and mash together.   Heat skillet over medium-high heat.  Form patties from mixture.  Add EVOO to pan and cook 5-7 minutes per side.

I used my hand-blender.  Best kitchen gadget ever, btw.

 

 

 

 

 

Multi-tasking

 

 

 

I might have blendered (word?) too long, taking it to the point of puree, but it didn’t matter for me in the end.  Embarrassing story actually: when I took a taste from the hand-blender to see how the mixture turned out, it was SO darn good that I couldn’t stop taking tastes.  Dipping your finger over-and-over around the top of a hand-blender?  Not a good idea…

 

I’m such an idiot when I’m hungry.

Battle scars aside, I think they came out really well!  Next time, I might try to add an ingredient that would hold the mixture together better (breadcrumbs?  Egg?), but hey, I’m not picky!

 

They’re under all that avocado somewhere…

I served them with a side of roasted brussels sprouts and an arugula salad with beets and cukes.

 

How many super foods can you fit in one meal??

These were VERY filling, which always deserves an A+ in my (cook)book (sorry I had to).  I couldn’t even eat the second one, which is very uncharacteristic of me.  Good thing tomorrow’s lunch isn’t too far away!

 

These patties may have been the best thing I’ve cooked myself in a while.  So on that note, I’m turning in.  Goodnight!

What’s the best meal you’ve cooked yourself?  Please share!

Responses

  1. […]  Recipe Update:  before I turn into a Quinoa Black Bean Sweet Potato Patty (I had one for dinner Friday night, lunch on Saturday, lunch on Sunday, and one is ready and […]

  2. […] tried the Black Bean Burger recipe from Sarah Smiles yesterday, and I need to figure out how to keep them all TOGETHER. They might have crumbled, oops. I […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

