Posted by: saramcglothlin | August 4, 2012

The Liebster Award: 11 Things You Might Not Have Known

When I found out that Eva @ committed2nutrition nominated me for the Liebster Award, I was beyond thrilled! I have only been blogging since May, so I was really honored.  I hope y’all are enjoying reading it as much as I am enjoying writing it!  It literally makes me happy every single day.

I have some down-time until I go to my brother’s house for dinner, so I thought I would take this opportunity to answer Eva’s questions.

 

 

Here Are The Rules:

    • Tell us 11 random things about yourself. Answer the questions that the person who tagged you asks. Create 11 new questions for the people you tag.
    • Tag 11 blogs and link them to your post.
    • Contact them and let them know they have been tagged.

1.  I am the youngest of 5 kids but grew up almost as an only child.  My dad had 3 kids from his first marriage (ranging 27-17 years older than I) and I am the baby from his second marriage.  My older brother Chris went to boarding school when I was 10, so for half of my life at home, it was just my parents and me.

2.  I was an aunt at the age of 8.  I have 6 nieces and nephews from those older three siblings.  The oldest is going into her sophomore year of college!  I have a hard time calling her my “niece” (because she grew up in San Fran and I swear she’s so much more mature than I am), so I refer to her as “my Natalie.”

 

3. I’m very superstitious.  I can never bypass a penny if it’s on heads, not even when a car is about to run me over (true story).  I also have to kiss the clock every time it reads 11:11 and say “rabbit rabbit” on the first day of every month.

4.  11 is my favorite number, so I feel like the Liebster Award was meant for me (kidding…kind of)

5.  Patrick is the first guy I’ve dated since my high school/college boyfriend.  I was single for 5 years, and during that time I endured 2 big heartbreaks.  I also spent a lot of time alone, learning who I am and how to love myself, and I’m a stronger person because of it.  It wasn’t until I swore off dating for a little bit and stopped looking (ironically) that I was reconnected with Patrick (I’ve known him since college).

6.  I went to grad school and got my Masters in Teaching.  I entered the job market amidst a drought of teaching jobs in my area, and randomly applied for a job in the banking industry using my Econ undergraduate degree.  I had to google “what is the stock market” before my interview.  I am still shocked they hired me to this day, but I wouldn’t change it for the world!

7.  I look in the mirror and know that I am 27, but sometimes I feel like I’m 15 in my mind.  I’m a kid at heart and don’t expect this to change, even when I’m 50.

8.  I hate the song “Love Shack” by the B52’s.  I have to change it every time it comes on the radio.

9.  I am deathly afraid of sharks-or the idea of them.  Ironically, I love the ocean AND I love Shark Week!  Wierd, huh?

10.  The #1 place I want to travel to in the world is to the Greek Islands.  I’ve never seen pictures of anything more beautiful.  Watching Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2 only made me want to go even more.

 

 

11.  I love scary movies.  I’m a huge movie buff in general, but I grew up watching Friday the 13th, Halloween, and Nightmare on Elm Street (see “older siblings” above).  I may have spent a good part of my childhood thinking Freddie Krueger lived under my bed, but I love them to this day–if it’s a good one.

Eva’s Questions:

1. Why are you blogging?

A couple of years ago I discovered Carrots ‘N’ Cake, Kath Eats, Oh She Glows and other healthy living blogs.  Reading them helped me see there was a balance between being healthy and living a full, happy life at a time when I was struggling with disordered eating.  Although the road has not been a straight one (and I’m still on it!) I feel like I have gotten to be in a much better place.  Starting my own blog was a natural next step!

2. What is your favorite color?

Any shade of blue, but if I had to pick just one, it would be Caribbean Blue.  Just like that blue you see in the picture above…

3. What 3 words best describe you?

I had to get my best friend/roommate to help me with this one.  She said loyal, dependable, and sweet.  I would have said Hard-working, responsible, and silly.  Thanks, M!

4. What do you do in your free time?

Run/walk/excercise, read, cook, watch movies (but I really don’t want TV as much anymore), and now BLOG!

5. What is your favorite sport?

College football is my favorite sport to watch.  Tennis is my favorite sport to play.

6. If you could only pick one work out, what would it be?

This is a really hard one!  I would probably have to say Barre for both its physical and mental benefits it provides.  I feel happy and strong every time I walk out of the studio.  Giving up cardio would be tough though.  Good thing this is just a question!

7. Dog or cat lover?

DOG! I love dogs.  I want one so badly but given my hours and living situation, it wouldn’t be fair (or economically sensible) to get one right now.  I can’t wait for the day I can get a dog!

8. What food do you absolutely hate?

There are not that many foods I hate necessarily.  But if I had to choose…lima beans? Or maybe I’m channeling my 6-year-old self.  My dad used to try and get me to eat them by playing the “game” to see how many I could stack on my fork.  I always pushed them around my plate to make it look like I ate more than I actually did.  I thought I was so smart.

9. What is your favorite quality in a fitness instructor or personal trainer?

His/her ability to make you laugh during a workout.  “Spunky” if you will.

10. Favorite alcohol drink?

While I do like my wine, I’m a beer girl.  Any kind of IPA or other pale ale.  Bud Light and the like just don’t do it for me anymore.  I have to have flavor because I honestly love the taste of beer.

11. Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I don’t see myself leaving Richmond anytime soon, but who knows!  In 5 years I’ll be 32 (whoa); I would just like to be in a job I love, surrounded by people I love.  Happy.  That’s all I ask for really.

That was fun!

 

My 11 Questions For You:

1.  What got you into blogging?

2.  What’s the best thing you’ve cooked?

3.  If you could go anywhere in the world, where would it be?

4.  What’s your dream job?

5.  What’s your favorite way to work out?

6.  What do you love most about yourself?

7.  How do you de-stress?

8.  If you were stranded on an island, which 3 records/CDs/music artists would you want with you?

9.  What are 3 things you do for fun?

10.  Chocolate or Vanilla? Almond Butter or Peanut Butter?

11.  When are you most happy?

Blogs I Nominate:

 

Thanks again Eva!

 

Responses

  1. Aw, thanks for the tag girl! 🙂

  2. I loved reading this and getting to know you more!! you totally have me now saying “rabbit rabbit” for the 1st of every month.. I am totally superstitious, too!

    • That was really fun to do and come more easily than I though with thinking up the 11 random things! I loved reading your too…thanks again!


Leave a Reply

Categories

