Posted by: saramcglothlin | August 5, 2012

Pose Running

This morning’s run didn’t come as easily as yesterday’s, For one thing, I was extremely sore when I woke up from Thursday’s crossfit.  I wonder why it took 3 days to hit me?  But that was just my arms and shoulders.  My legs ached from an overly difficult barre class yesterday.  I swear Ashley makes Saturday morning classes the toughest.  Secondly, it was a little more humid as well, and coupled with a slight pain in the ball of my left foot, let’s just say I wasn’t running with a huge smile on my face.

Running injuries are the worst.  I stopped running outside for a while last fall due to an annoying case of plantar fascitis.  It wasn’t until I started training for the 10K early this year, AND bought new tennis shoes to fit my foot, that I felt good enough to run again.

In my first crossfit class, we were taught about pose running.  After having read Born to Run, it sounded a little familiar, but it was very helpful to see it demonstrated.  I try to think about this form each time I run.  In contrast to the way I normally run (I tend to lean forward, land on my heel, and kick back) it supposedly cuts back on injuries, and allows one to expend less energy by propelling your body forward.  Running with ease? I’d try anything!

 

If you would like to see it demonstrated as well, check out this short You Tube video.  It could help!

By the time I got back to my house after running my normal loop (about 3.5 miles), it was getting pretty hot outside.  I wasn’t ready to call it quits as I still wanted to enjoy the morning, so I walked for another mile.  I can tell it’s gonna be a scorcher!

I came home to a cool breakfast:

In the mix:

I had never sprinkled chia on my breakfast bowls before, but I liked the addition!  I just might do this more often for those Omega-3s!  Now I’m headed to a hair appointment for some pampering…have a good sunday!

Have you ever heard of pose running?  If so, do you try to practice it?

Responses

  1. Your quinoa and blackbean burgers look so good.. Can’t wait to make ’em!

    • Make sure you check out my update on the recipe I wrote on Sunday! They were so much better the second time


Leave a Reply

Categories

