Posted by: saramcglothlin | August 7, 2012

Roasted Eggplant Sandwich with Pesto & Goat Cheese

Dinner tonight was somethin’ special.  When I went to the grocery store after Barre class to pick up a few staples, I didn’t allow myself to get anything for dinner.  I knew I had enough at home to put together a decent meal.  And did I ever…

Roasted Eggplant Sandwich with Pesto & Goat Cheese

Serves 1 (I’m only serving myself, but feel free to double, triple, etc)

  • 1/2 eggplant, thinly sliced, lengthwise
  • 1 T pesto
  • 1 T goat cheese
  • 1/2 large tomato (or 1 small tomato)
  • 2 slices of whole wheat bread
  • EVOO or OO cooking spray
  • salt

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Place eggplant on a baking tray.  Coat with EVOO or cooking spray and salt and cook for 20 minutes.  Flip and cook 10 more minutes on the other side.

 

While the eggplant is cooking, prepare sandwich.  Spread pesto and goat cheese on each half

 

Top with tomato and cooked eggplant slices.  I had roasted brussels on the side.

 

 

 

I have to say this was a mighty tasty sandwich!  At first when I was thinking up this concoction, I was worried I wasn’t getting enough protein.  I read an article recently on Livestrong.com that questions how much protein we really need each day, so it has been on my mind.  For instance, there is only about 0.8g of protein in 1 cup of eggplant.  However, I figured this was a well-rounded meal, and given the fact that I think I had enough protein throughout the day, I dismissed the worry and cooked on.  See for yourself:

Breakfast

Blueberry-Banana-Flax Protein Pancake, topped with almond butter and banana slices

 

Lunch

Green salad with grilled chicken and 1/2 avocado; homemade balsamic dressing using this vinegar; baby carrots

 

Snacks

1 cup Kashi GoLean, topped with cashew pieces

 

Pre-Barre snack of 0% Fage yogurt, 1 Barney Butter packet, apple

 

I felt fueled today for sure!

Do you try to think about protein, fiber, healthy fat combinations with each meal/snack?  Or do you base it on a day’s worth of eats?

Responses

  1. Also, remember that whole wheat bread and cheese and pesto all have protein! Great recipe xoox


Leave a Reply

Categories

