Posted by: saramcglothlin | August 8, 2012

WIAW: An Evening Out

Happy WIAW folks!  Hop on over to Jenn’s blog to join the party!

Blueberries are by far my #1 summer staple.  In fact, having them in my protein pancake just wasn’t enough.  I literally poured them all over this morning’s breakfast (coupled with almond butter and banana slices of course).

 

They will never get old.

For Lunch, I packed a turkey, avocado, and spinach sandwich on whole wheat, which never would have been complete without this guy:

 

Eating local.  Richmond even has a festival every summer in honor of these tomatoes.  It lived up to its name today for sure!

 

 

 

Once at work, I paired my sandwich with a grapefruit

 

And I can’t forget those summer snacks (Not really, I think I just really like alliteration…)

My mid-morning snack consisted of a few Pretzel Crisps and hummus, followed by Fage yogurt

 

A couple of hours after lunch, I topped 1 cup of Kashi GoLean with some Love Bites

 

Dinner tonight was a treat.  After seeing my friend Claire at Kate’s birthday last week (to the right of me in the group picture), we made plans to get together for dinner.  Claire is an old friend of mine; I’m not talking back to the “good ole’ college days.”  When I say old, I mean “we made up dances together to Spice Girls songs and she was there when I got my ears pierced” old.  This is one of the benefits of being back where I grew up.  I get to have dinner dates with those girls who I went to school with from Kindergarten through Senior year.  Yes they know everything about me and my whole past, but in a time when true friends can be few and far between, I’ll take that in a heart beat.

We met up at Mosaic and immediately got to talking the night away.  I swear the waitress had to come back 4 times before we could take a breath were ready to order, which was funny, because I always order the same thing there.

We started off with some drinks: pinot grigio for me, red wine for Claire

 

I also snacked on a piece of bread before dinner.  I used to never eat the bread from the bread basket.  After reading many magazine articles to avoid this at all costs, I wouldn’t touch it with a ten foot pole.  This thought is just plain silly to me now.  I will say though that when the bread basket bread is whole wheat, it makes my day (and I also never skimp on the butter)

 

I ordered the usual (you’ve actually seen it once before)

Fit Life Burgers (vegan)

spicy, mini black bean burgers, served over spinach, garnished with edamame hummus, cucumber-yogurt sauce, feta, grape tomatoes & roasted peppers

 

Never disappoints.  It was so much fun catching up as well.  A good night all around!  We even made a plan to join the same training team for an upcoming 8k.  We’ll see if it happens…

Now I’m taking myself to bed.  I have a breakfast meeting with the CEO of my company tomorrow and I have got to get my brain rest.  Goodnight!

Responses

  1. Oh everything looks delicious! Hope your meeting w/ the CEO goes wonderful today 🙂

  2. your meals look SO freakin’ good. I love your writing first of all, but love your attitude towards health & fitness. Avoid bread basket? I feel you; I used to do the same. But then I started reaeding how actually bread WITH BUTTER and OLIVE OIL is actually better for you than just the bread alone. PASS THAT BASKET ON OVER! lol. I mean one piece isn’t going to kill you, so I totally go for it. Hope you had a good meeting this am!!

  3. haha or two..or three pieces. I always do the butter/olive oil combo. Double the pleasure!


Leave a Reply

Categories

