Posted by: saramcglothlin | August 12, 2012

Energy Bar Recipe and a Fitness Update

Happy Sunday Funday friends!  I hope everyone has been having a great weekend.  It’s been relaxing for me more than anything, and I am sad to see it come to a close.

After falling asleep at 9:45 PM last night, I woke up pretty early.  I immediately felt the itch to get a quick workout in to start my day off on the right foot.  I found myself planning my fitness agenda in my head, and it went something like this:

  • 7 – 8 AM: Early morning run/walk
  • 11 AM: Yoga

I will just tell you now that neither of those happened.  When I realized it was raining, I took the cardio to the gym, and did 20 minutes on the stair stepper and 15 minute on the elliptical.  I still wanted to go to yoga, but then the sun came out.  I am not one to pass up a dose of some Vitamin D, so I went on a short stroll a few hours later.

After the gym, I fixed some breakfast

Blueberry-Banana-Flax Protein Pancake (which I basically have every day now)

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 scoop brown rice protein powder
  • 1/2 banana, mashed
  • 1 T ground flax
  • 2 T coconut milk
  • blueberries
  • almond butter blob with sliced banana

AND I made some energy bars

Three-Ingredient Energy Bars

  • 1/2 c – 3/4 c Coconut Butter*
  • 1/2 c dried apricots
  • 4 Medjool dates, pitted and sliced
  • sliced almonds (optional)

*I used up the rest of the shredded coconut I had in my pantry to make the coconut butter.  It wasn’t overly processed, which I think helped.  I don’t know if smooth, creamy store-bought coconut butter would work here.

Put all 3 ingredients in a food processor.  Once relatively smooth, use your hands to form a ball from the dough, kneading in the sliced almonds if desired.  Using a rolling-pin, roll until the dough is about an inch thick

Cut into equal sized “bars” and place them in the refrigerator to harden

 

I have yet to try one, but I did smell them, and I don’t think I am going to be disappointed.  I did just realize that there is not that much protein in these bars (aside from a little in the coconut butter and sliced almonds), so I want to pay attention to how satiating they are, and maybe tweak the recipe from there.  They were super easy to make though, so I will give them that!

Any suggestions as to how I could incorporate more protein?

I ran around for a while doing errands and chores, and didn’t get home for lunch until about 5 hours after eating breakfast.  What saved me?

Gingerberry Kombucha

 

It cured the hanger pains around hour 4.  Once home, I snacked on some baby carrots while making a salad

 

Green salad with red cabbage, 1/2 avocado, chick peas, a Dr. Praeger’s veggie burger, O&V

 

and an apple to round out the meal

 

Before I go, I have a couple of fitness updates for ya.  I have signed up for two more upcoming races.

1.  The Maymont 8-miler at the X-country Festival.  I’m not going to lie, I was very intimidated to sign up for this.  I have never run 8 miles in my life (7 miles was the most while training for a 10K).  But, I feel like I can do it.  Not only will there be a lot of stuff going on around me (i.e. a festival), but the trail takes you through the James River Park system, in the woods, over rocks, etc.  That seems fun!  Plus, after completing the race, I will get to head to Washington D.C. that night to see a good friend get married.  I’m already having an awesome day in my mind!

2.  The HCA Virginia 8k, which is part of the Anthem Richmond Marathon in November.  Since I will not be running the marathon (I’m freaking out over 8 miles!), I still wanted to participate, so I signed up for the 8k.  And although I don’t necessarily need to train, I also signed up for the training team through Sports Backers.  It meets every Saturday morning at 7:30 AM; I did this when training for the 10k, and I just really like running with other people, and it’s a great way to start a Saturday.

Do you have any upcoming fitness/running plans??

Responses

  1. If you can run 7 miles, you won’t even notice the difference in the fun atmosphere of a race!

    • Thanks Anne! I’m hoping that is the case…

  2. I’m running the Race for the Cure September 9th with Helen and Mollie Horan! Can’t wait. As for protein in bars, I’ve had trouble getting enough as well. Even using lots o’ nuts doesn’t seem to do the trick. Honestly I think veggie protein is the way to go, and I’m probably going to experiment with it soon. Glad you enjoyed your day! xx

  3. […] was the same thing as yesterday (I just made two salads at the grocery store salad bar), but topped this one with goat cheese as […]

  4. […] another race.  I am hoping not to let my fear stop me from running the 8 miler I have coming up at the end of […]

  5. […] didn’t stop, but it did make me more nervous about having to run 8 miles in 3 weeks…I think know I […]

  6. […] Today’s route was about a mile longer than yesterday’s for a total of about 4.15 miles.  8 miles here I come! […]

  7. […] made more cashew sarabars, this time with more cashew than dried fruit so this batch literally tastes like cashew cookie […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

