Posted by: saramcglothlin | August 13, 2012

Staying Positive

Hi!  How’s everyone doing today??

I’m just going to put it out there: I’ve had a pretty crummy couple of days.  To put it simply, I’ve been a little blue.  However, I do think there is something to be said about one’s attitude when faced with a bad day, bad week, major hardship, what have you. It’s not as easy as it sounds, I know, but trying to see some silver lining (squint if you have to) will give you hope.  For me, hope and optimism are two things that get me through; I honestly believe that by staying positive, you will attract “positive” to you.  It might sound like mumbo-jumbo, but I don’t make this stuff up.  If you need to roll your eyes now, do it, then go watch The Secret. If Oprah says it’s true, then ya know it’s legit.

So here I was, having a bad day-but mustering every ounce of my mind to be “positive” at work, about the future, etc-when I just couldn’t wait to get to Barre class to de-stress, take some deep breaths, and end my day on a “positive” note (there’s that word again).  Does anyone remember when I told you about the end of the Barre Star Challenge, that if you completed it, your name got put in a drawing to win a massage?  Welp, I didn’t win…BUT the woman who did win didn’t want it, and for some awesome reason, our instructor gave it to me!

I’m pretty sure this gift certificate to Fundamental Massage is good for a 90 minute massage! Let’s just say I’m smiling…BIG.  Good things come to those who think they can.

Workout

I started my day with a treadmill circuit at the gym:

 

Time Speed Incline
0:00-4:00 4.5 1.0
4:00-8:00 6.0 1.0
8:00-10:00 7.0 1.0
10:00-12:00 4.5 1.0
12:00-15:00 6.3 1.0

 

I repeated this routine about 2 more times.

Breakfast

Because my mind has been a little distracted, I left out my 2 favorite ingredients in my protein pancake this morning: the mashed banana AND the cinnamon.  Sheesh.  It’s OK, I made up for it later

 

Lunch today was the same thing as yesterday (I just made two salads at the grocery store salad bar), but topped this one with goat cheese as well.

 

My afternoon snacks entailed a shmorgasboard of stuff, but the highlight was one of the Three-Ingredient Energy bars I made yesterday

 

Y’all…I liked this better than a Larabar.  There I said it.  I might just have to name it a Sarabar. Yes, I went there.

And before Barre, I whipped up a green smoothie: frozen mango, frozen blueberries, apple slices, coconut milk, spinach

 

There was also some of this action happening on the side

 

Pretzel Crisps with Tribe hummus.  Yum!

Dinner

I kept it dinner simple tonight, and threw together an egg sandwich (1 egg/1 egg white, pesto, red pepper on a whole wheat sandwich thin) with a side of pureed squash

 

That does it folks, I’m calling it a night.  I’ve got to go pack as I am off to New York tomorrow for a work conference.  It won’t be all work; there will be some play, including dinner with Nellie (yay!), and hopefully I’ll get a glimpse of Laura Lea!  But don’t fret, I’ll be back on Wednesday with a special edition of WIAWHow to Remain Healthy While Traveling for Work.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Can I just say..I LOVE your blog posts. Attitude really is everything..and I hope you are having a better day. Your eats are awesome, too. CHEER UP BUTTER CUP! 🙂

    • Thanks so much Eva! You just did cheer me up!

  2. […] couple of hours later, I broke into a Sarabar. My stomach started growling right before I was about to be put to work, and I knew I needed my […]

  3. […] The last of my Sarabars. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

