Posted by: saramcglothlin | August 16, 2012

Raw Sesame Kale Salad

After I got back into town yesterday, I caved and headed straight to Ellwood’s for dinner.  I swear I was just going to pick up some sushi, but some other items fell into my basket.  Oops.

I was excited about this though.  I had never seen kale in a container before!

 

Yes, I get excited about boxed veggies.  I’m all about convenience.

 

Plus, check out that vitamin content!

Raw Sesame Kale Salad

Serves 1

  • 1 tsp lite sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tsp rice vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp dark sesame oil
  • 1 small garlic clove, minced
  • as much kale as desired

Mix first 4 ingredients in the bottom of a medium bowl.  Add kale and toss to coat

 

 

I scrounged up some other items in my kitchen, and threw together the most random dinner I have had in a while.

Raw Sesame Kale salad, a Dr. Praeger’s veggie burger with a fried egg on top, garnished with 1/2 avocado; “baked” sweet potato (i.e. microwaved).

 

Piece of dark chocolate with a bit of crunchy PB on top

 

To give you the Cliff’s Notes of the rest of my day

Workout

Besides doing Barre this evening, I went on a 4 mile run this morning.  After not working out during my trip to New York, it felt gooood.

Breakfast

Same ole’ blueberry-banana-flax protein pancake, which I later topped with the rest of my banana and a blob of almond butter

 

Lunch

Green salad with grilled chicken, scoop of homemade hummus, feta cheese; grapefruit

 

Mid-afternoon snack

The last of my Sarabars.

 

 

So I just made more!

 

  • 2 c roasted almonds
  • 1/2 c dried apricots
  • 5 Medjool dates

Process almonds in a food processor until the point when it is just about to form “the ball.”  Add the other 2 ingredients.  Use your hands to knead the dough into a ball, and then using a rolling pin, shape until an inch thick.  Slice how you want them and refrigerate.

Have you ever made your own snack bars?  What are your favorite ingredients to use?

Don’t forget to check out my giveaway I posted earlier today…you have until Sunday night!

Responses

  1. […] Almond sarabar […]

  2. […] Almond sarabar (sorry the name is here to stay) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

