Posted by: saramcglothlin | August 17, 2012

Eating Again?

There’s this man who works in my office.  Well, I would like to think he works in my office; sometimes he just likes to walk around as if he has nothing to do…except comment on how much I eat.

I eat frequently.  It’s no secret (especially since I blog about it).  I eat three square meals a day, and snack often in between.  I like to think I am doing everyone a favor, because when I get hungry, I get bitchy cranky.  I also lose my focus and concentration when I’m hungry (think Frosted Mini Wheats commercial); therefore, I’m trying to maximize my performance at work.  Bottom line: I eat when my body tells me to.

Some days, I’m hungrier than others.  I used to stick to more of a “schedule,” and if the clock said it wasn’t lunch time, I didn’t eat yet.  This.  Drove. Me. Crazy.  I just don’t do that anymore.  The secret?  My body craves healthy foods, so that’s what I eat.  And if I crave something unhealthy?  I have a small portion and move on and choose something healthy the next go-round.  Balance.

Let’s just use today as an example:

Workout

I headed to the gym for some cardio

  • 15 minutes on the elliptical.  It wasn’t intense as I was reading Us Weekly
  • 10 minutes of circuit work (jump rope, kettle ball swing, burpees, push-ups, planks)
  • 10 minute circuit on the treadmill (this is my go-to)

Time Speed Incline
0:00-1:00 4.5 1.0
1:00-2:00 4.5 3.0
2:00-3:00 4.5 6.0
3:00-4:00 4.5 9.0
4:00-5:00 4.5 12.0
5:00-6:00 4.5 15.0
6:00-7:00 4.5 12.0
7:00-8:00 4.5 9.0
8:00-9:00 4.5 6.0
9:00-10:00 4.5 3.0
10:00-11:00 4.5 1.0

 

Breakfast-7:15 AM

Blueberry-Banana-Flax Protein Pancake, banana slices, almond butter blob

 

Snack #1-9:30 AM

0% Fage yogurt, apple

 

Snack #2-11:30 AM

The rest of my bag of pretzels (about 1/3 of the bag)

 

Lunch-12:30 PM

Green salad with tofu, 1/2 avocado, O&V dressing; peach

 

 

Snack #3-2:30 PM

1 c Kashi GoLean cereal

 

Snack #5-4:00 PM

Almond sarabar

 

 

 

*Interim*

Celebratory happy hour with some coworkers after work…on my 2 year anniversary at my company to the day, I won a company-wide award (yay!)

Dinner-7:15 PM

Whole wheat wrap, hummus, baby carrots, parmesean slices, and a green smoothie

 

So there you have it folks.  I’m officially full.

Do you eat at certain times throughout the day, or stick to natural hunger cues?

 

 

Responses

  1. I have learned what works best for me over the years. I do best with three square meals a day and an afternoon snack and post dinner snack (or snacks).

    I think he’s just jealous he doesn’t get to eat as much yummy deliciouness as you 🙂

    • I know, you come to realize how you function at your best. I just know that I can’t function at all really when I’m hungry. While I am not just a “snacker” throughout the day (I do have meals), my meals are never really big, so as long as I make healthy choices with my snacks, I know I will be fine.

      That’s what my office manager said after I had to ask her if I was eating too much! I wouldn’t have cared anyway…


Leave a Reply

Categories

