Posted by: saramcglothlin | August 18, 2012

The Day at the Museum

Hey everyone!  Happy Saturday!

I woke up early this morning, around 6:30 AM.  I will tell you time and time again that there is nothing better than waking up on Saturday feeling refreshed after a good night’s sleep.  This is the reason I stay in on Friday nights-for that feel-good-feeling the next day.

It was below 70 degrees here and felt like fall.  It is supposed to creep up into the 90s all weekend, so I took advantage of the cool weather while I could and went for a run.  There was definitely a race going on at the same time, so for the last 1.5 miles, I snuck right on in!

I may or may not have waved at the camera when the photographer was taking pictures of the runners as they passed (tee hee).

I had to think for a little bit about breakfast this morning.  I have had my fair share of blueberry-banana-flax protein pancakes recently, so I decided to switch it up a bit.  I added a new flavor to an old fave

In the mix:

The rest of my morning entailed Barre class, cleaning my apartment, and getting ready for some special visitors.  My aunts and uncles were in town (my mom’s two sisters and their husbands) from Boston and Bristol, VA.  I only get to see them about once a year, and when those three get together, all hell breaks loose.  I’ve never seen three women finish each others’ sentences and laugh like they do.  Ah sisters…

There was a special exhibit featured at the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts that we had planned to check out.  The museum is only about a 5 minute walk from where I live, so I headed over around 11:45 AM to meet them all for lunch at the restaurant inside

Maharaja: The Splendors of India’s Great Kings

Amuse

I joined my aunts and uncles for a mid-day cocktail.  It is Saturday after all…or in the words of my aunts: “Because we can!”

To go along with the theme of the exhibit, the menu featured dishes with an Indian flare.  I ordered the Chilled Coconut Carrot Soup with the Quinoa salad (over Manakintowne greens, dried cherries, candied pecans, & red onion, with a champagne vinaigrette)

So good!!  I will have to figure out a way to recreate that soup, and probably healthify it because it was heavy.  I didn’t care though; if it was socially acceptable (and to my uncle Tom, it is), I would have licked that bowl clean.

Although we passed on seeing a dessert menu, that didn’t stop us, especially since my mom packed it

Dove Dark Chocolates for everyone!

“All you really need is love, and a little chocolate doesn’t hurt”

After about 15 minutes of looking at the jewels, garments, and paintings of kings of India’s past, I got antsy.  I will say that I enjoy art, but when it comes to looking at it for long periods of time, I just don’t get it.  Call me a math/numbers girl, but I skiddaddled out of there and hit up the gift shop.

Not bad!  Silver and gold cuff bracelets.  I did learn that India is known for its gold and silver.  And that’s my show-and-tell for the day.

I’m ready for a nap!

Did you do anything particularly fun or different today/this weekend?

Don’t forget to check out my giveaway!

Responses

  1. […] awoke with breakfast on my brain this morning, and fixed the same thing as yesterday, but used a peach instead of […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

