Posted by: saramcglothlin | August 19, 2012

Massaged Kale Salad with Apples and Goat Cheese

Happy Sunday morning to you! Have you ever heard of “massaged” kale salad?  My good friend Kate told me about it a while ago, and I have been wanting to try it ever since.  So last night, as I was flipping through some cookbooks trying to think of what to eat for dinner, I thought about the kale I had in my fridge.

Massaged Kale Salad with Apples and Goat Cheese

Adapted from this recipe (which also includes a ‘how-to’ video). Serves 1

  • 3 large handfuls of kale (it wilts down once massaged)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp unfiltered apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp EVOO
  • 1/2 small apple, diced
  • goat cheese to taste

Place kale and salt in a mixing bowl and massage with your hands for about a minute (or two) until wilted.

 

Transfer the kale to another bowl.  Add the rest of the ingredients and toss.

Due to my grocery store burn-out of late, I paired it with other items I had on hand:

Dr. Praeger’s veggie burger on a whole wheat sandwich thin, 1/2 avocado, fried egg, spicy mustard

 

 

For dessert I had 2 Medjool dates with almond butter.  You will definitely see this again!

 

 

I then met my good friend Joanna (far left in the group picture) for a drink at The Franklin Inn for a drink.  It was her mom’s birthday, so I got to celebrate with them post their dinner.  It was good to catch up, as I haven’t seen her mom since college!  Joanna and I met up with some friends for a short while afterward, but I was home in bed by 11 PM.

I awoke with breakfast on my brain this morning, and fixed the same thing as yesterday, but used a peach instead of blueberries.

 

I’m headed to BodyStep.  Don’t forget to enter the giveaway to win some free organic food!

Responses

  1. I made massaged kale for the first time last night and loved it! Definately going to be my kale go to prep from now on.

  2. […] Pan seared salmon, quinoa, massaged kale salad with apples and goat cheese Not long after dinner, my sweet tooth kicked in, so I had about 1/3 c of Cascadian Farm Ancient […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

