Posted by: saramcglothlin | August 20, 2012

My Meatless Monday

I am not a vegetarian by any means.  I do prefer vegetarian foods, and after a long-winded “kick” of cooking my own chicken my senior year of college, I don’t like to make it myself (turkey burgers being the only exception).  I have always been intrigued however, by the concept of Meatless Monday.  I knew it was a “thing,” but little did I know it was a movement!  I browsed the website for a bit, and I want to check out more later, but I found it to be very interesting and a very good resource for recipes.

I was disappointed to discover that fish was not included on the Meatless Monday menu.  Before I could give myself a pat on the back for participating today unintentionally, the salmon that I had for dinner sadly does not fit the bill.  I read and acknowledged their reasoning, but part of me still considers myMonday meatless (or pescatarian to be exact).

Breakfast

OO with 1/3 c oats, 1/2 c coconut milk, 1 T chia, 1/2 mashed banana, cinnamon, blueberries, almond butter blob, and rest of the banana sliced

Lunch

Green salad with tomatoes, peppers, broccoli, cukes, Ellwood’s sun-dried tomato lentil burger, goat cheese, O&V

Dinner

Salmon (marinated in this dressing), sautéed spinach with EVOO and garlic powder, baked sweet potato

and a glass of wine for good luck!

OK, that might only apply to birthday candles, but I need some luck in my life, so why not…?

Workouts of the day:

  • 60 minute walk this morning as it started to rain (#dedication)
  • Barre class this evening

**Cereal Giveaway Winner**

Anne!!

How awesome! I’ve actually always thought about buying Cascadian Farms at the grocery store!

Congrats! Just send me an email with your address and it will be on its way!

Was your Monday Meatless??

Responses

  1. Yey, I am so excited to have won the giveaway, thanks for hosting it!

    I have no desire to go veg either but I could easily be pescatartian just because I love seafood so much! Growing up on the coast of Fl there were so many days where I realised I ate seafood three meals a day without meaning to!

  2. […] I specifically asked for vegetarian fare, which contrasts to my non-vegetarian disclosure from yesterday.  But the more I thought about ordering turkey, ham, or what have you, I found it to be […]

  3. […] My Meatless Monday if I do say so […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

