Posted by: saramcglothlin | August 21, 2012

When Weird is Worth It

OK, weird is always worth it, but here, I’m talking food.

Often times when reading Healthy Living blogs, I come across some weird food combinations: eggs in oats, almond butter on sweet potatoes,  and plantains with black bean hummus…oh, you haven’t heard that one?

Those are just two components of the best sandwich I’ve had in a long time.  I didn’t pack my lunch today (for once), so when trying to think of where I wanted to eat, I thought of Citizen.  My friend Polly had mentioned this place a couple of times, and while I still had to Google Image “torta,” I decided to give it a go.  One torta in particular piqued my interest:

Roast Butternut Squash, curry cashew butter and celery root, horseradish slaw

I have to admit, I hesitated.  It just sounded so weird.  However, in the days of trying new things, I called them up and ordered it.  Unfortunately, they had changed their menu recently, and that sandwich was no longer available.  Knowing that I was going to have to make a split-second decision, I asked what other vegetarian options there were.

Grilled Plantains, black bean hummus, pico de gallo, cilantro with a sweet & spicy dipping sauce

Yes, please!

If you’ll notice, I specifically asked for vegetarian fare, which contrasts to my non-vegetarian disclosure from yesterday.  But the more I thought about ordering turkey, ham, or what have you, I found it to be increasingly unappetizing.  I couldn’t do it.  Call it another “kick” but it feels different this time.

With the torta, came a side, so I ordered the fresh fruit.

You can tell from the picture that it was a heaping helping, so I did myself a favor and ate only 1 half + the fruit.  This was not hard to do because a few times over the last couple of weeks, I have over-eaten at lunch and proceeded to feel very uncomfortable (and sleepy) afterwards.  I just kept this in mind along with the fact that I get to eat the other half tomorrow!

Citizen is actually switching up the menu AGAIN tomorrow; in fact, the butternut squash torta will be on there, so I am already planning to go back.

Other meatless meals included:

Breakfast

Same thing as yesterday

After two mornings of OO, I have officially missed my blueberry-banana-flax pancakes.  Let’s just say I have two waiting for me in the fridge for Wednesday and Thursday…

Dinner

Omelette (1 egg, 3 whites) with spinach and goat cheese; sweet potato with almond butter

Stay weird.

Workout

I went for an early morning run this morning (about 4 miles) and ended up cancelling barre class tonight.  I needed some R&R at home.

What’s the weirdest food combination you have ever eaten?  Did you like it?

Responses

  1. HA! you totally crack me up!! “stay weird”..haha love it. The sandwich looks bomb and I am jealous that you can get your omlette to actually look like one.. mine always ends up looking like scrambled eggs, boo 😦

    Hmm weirdest thing I eat… Probably pumpkin + ricotta. The blogger world probably doesn’t think this is weird, but everyone outside of this “world” looks at me like I have 10 heads when I talk about it, ha. I also love random cereal and pancakce concoctions.. my mom always gags when I tell her about them, ha!!

    Happy Wednesday!

    • I was surprised that it turned out that way too…trust me! pumpkin and ricotta?? that sounds awesome! How do you combine them??

  2. […] other half of yesterday’s sandwich; apple […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

