Posted by: saramcglothlin | August 22, 2012

WIAW: Short & Sweet

Hello! This is going to be a short post because I just got back from dinner with my best friend Polly, and after chatting the night away (and a super long day at work) I’m ready to hit the hay.  Since it is (WIA)Wednesday I can let most of the pictures do the talking.  Thanks Jenn for another great week (of not making me think about what to post about today…kidding!)

 

It reads “Summer Staples,” but I’m feeling more in the “Fun Food and Fitness” mood today, because I had them ALL!

 

There’s no real rules to this right?  Fwew!

 

Workout

I hit the gym this morning with an informal plan to do some kind of circuit.  It went like this:

  • 10 mins on the elliptical
  • 15 minute circuit work: 1 min of jump rope in between 1 minute each of kettleball swings, burpees, side crunches, push-ups
  • 10 minute walk/sprint circuit (walking at 4.5 for 1 minute; run at 7.5 for 1 minute)
  • 5 minutes of stretching

Breakfast

Blueberry-Banana-Flax Protein Pancake; coffee

 

Mid-Morning Snack

 

Lunch

The other half of yesterday’s sandwich; apple slices

 

Mid-Afternoon Snack #1

Mini Babybel Light cheese round

 

Mid-Afternoon Snack #2

Almond sarabar (sorry the name is here to stay)

 

I had a Dr’s appointment after work, and I knew I wouldn’t be able to hold off until dinner.  Polly didn’t want me to get “hangry” so I fished the peanuts out of my bag from last week’s plane ride.  Desperate times call for desperate measures.

 

I still had time to kill before dinner, so I stopped at Ellwood’s to pick up some lunch for tomorrow.  I even scored a small serving of some fresh-made chocolate because I flirted with the cute guy behind the counter.

SO good but very rich. I could only stomach 2 small tastes and ended up throwing the rest away…

Dinner

I had a Groupon to Bonvenu located in Carytown.  I had always seen it passing by, but have never tried it.  The menu looked pretty good, so we decided to try it tonight.

Let the montage begin…

 

We literally had the whole place to ourselves.  No one else was eating there.  I would have taken this as a red flag, but I was actually pleased with my meal.

 

Wine:

 

Appetizer:

Flat Bread Pizza w/ tomatoes, fresh mozzarella, caramelized onion, crispy basil & extra virgin olive oil

 

 

Entree:

Spinach Salad w/ house-smoked salmon, gorgonzola, grapefruit & toasted almonds w/champagne vinaigrette

 

All-in-all, I was happy with what I ate on my Wednesday.

Have you ever had a terrible experience at a restaurant?  If so, please share!

Responses

  1. I get “hangry,” too! To the extent that my co-workers now use the word (usually in reference to me) almost daily.


Leave a Reply

Categories

