Posted by: saramcglothlin | August 23, 2012

The Formula for Smoothie Making

I got asked the other day about some good ideas/recipes for smoothies.  I will tell you there is not an easier “recipe” than throwing all your ingredients in a food processor or blender and pressing “ON.”  With that said, I know I am not the queen of variety over here; I’m a creature of habit and tend to stick to what I like (in a variety of forms may I add), but for those who read this blog (I thank you), this could be perceived as a negative.  What if you don’t like blueberries, or sweet potatoes, or spinach in your smoothies?  Well, then I would say that is where you and I differ my friend, but since I also tend to have an open-mind, and a relatively good sense of food, I thought I would share with you a step-by-step process to smoothie-making.

When I was first flipping through the Family Chef cookbook, I thought Jewels and Jill’s provision of formulas for 9 kinds of salad dressing was very helpful.  It not only gave you a method, but allowed you a choice.  Who doesn’t like choice?

 

The “formula” goes something like this:

1.  Choose the acid.  2.  Adjust the acidity  3.  Choose an oil  4.  Add a base flavor

etc. etc.

So I thought I would apply a similar formula for smoothie making.  Remember, the possibilities are endless.  Just tweak to your tastes!

Choose a frozen fruit

  • The frozen fruit that I keep in my kitchen changes on a weekly basis.  Typically, as a banana is about to go bad, I break it up into chunks, put it in a plastic bag, and throw it in the freezer.  This can be done with any fruit obviously-the other day I had an overripe peach that I froze and just made into today’s smoothie.  Think berries, mango, pineapple.
  • Also remember the trick in one of my very first posts where you freeze your milk/liquid in ice trays and use that instead/in addition.

Choose a fresh fruit

  • I use what I have on hand: apple slices, berries, peaches, banana, pears, even pumpkin or cooked sweet potato

Choose a protein/milk

  • I used to solely drink soy milk, but I have since branched out: almond milk, coconut milk, soy milk, cow’s milk, rice milk
  • Remember yogurt does the trick as well; the texture would be thicker, so if you want to thin it out, I would use a combination of a yogurt and liquid

Choose a healthy fat (optional)

  • I normally skip right on over to the green, but if smoothies are ever my meal (which they rarely are) I will add a nut butter, flax seed, chia seed.  Today for instance, I did add 1 T of shredded coconut to the mix

Choose a green (optional)

  • spinach, kale, collard green.  All good!

Choose a topping (optional)

  • granola, cereal, nuts, seeds, shredded coconut, oats

 

For Example:

 

 

  • Frozen fruit: peaches
  • Fresh fruit: 1/2 apple (I wanted the other half to dip in hummus…stupid salty-sweet craving)
  • Protein/milk: almond milk
  • Healthy fat: 1 T shredded coconut and 1 T flax seed
  • Green: spinach

Throw it all into a food processor or blender and press “ON.”

Easy-peasy!

What’s your favorite smoothie concoction?  Any particular flavors that go well together?

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

