Posted by: saramcglothlin | August 25, 2012

Rainy Day Banana Bread

Hey y’all! Happy weekend…I don’t know about where you are, but it is a dreary day here in Richmond.  I woke up late (8:30 AM!) to the sound of a storm; I love sleeping to the sound of rain.  That must have been why I slept in because I went to bed at 10PM.  I feel great!

I had barre class at 9:30, so I threw together a quick, light breakfast.  Usually I’m starving when I wake up, but not so much this morning.

0% Fage yogurt with sliced banana, almond butter, sprinkle of Cascadian Farm Ancient Grains Granola; coffee with coconut milk

 

After barre, I was in the mood to bake (or was that in the mood for comfort food?).  I had picked up some almond meal recently and decided to break into it.  I am not “paleo”, but I wanted to make this a paleo-friendly banana bread, so I got to browsing some blogs for a recipe.  Unfortunately, I was out of vanilla, so I used agave instead, which I later learned is not paleo.  Oh well!

Rainy Day Banana Bread

Adapted from Style & Grace

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cup almond flour
  • 2 tablespoons ground flaxseed
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 tablespoon EVOO
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract (I had to use agave)
  • 1/3 chopped walnuts, plus more for topping

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a bread baking dish with cooking spray

In a large mixing bowl, combine all dry ingredients (almond flour, flaxseed, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, nutmeg, salt)

 

In a separate bowl, mix the banana, egg, honey, EVOO, and vanilla/agave.  After mixing the dry ingredients, pour the wet into the dry and stir/whisk well.

This gave me an opportunity to use my mixer for the first time!  Love.

 

Once mixed, add the walnuts.  Pour into the baking dish and add some more walnuts on top if desired.  Bake for 30-35 minutes (or until you test it with a fork and it comes out clean).

 

Allow bread to cool for about 10 minutes

 

 

While the bread was baking, I had a little lunch.  I made a green smoothie (frozen peaches, blueberries, coconut milk, spinach, brown rice protein powder) with crudités (baby carrots, grape tomatoes) and hummus

 

I’m saving a slice of the banana bread for a snack…I think it’s about that time…

I am going to take advantage of the rainy day and read, watch movies, and hang out with this lil’ guy.  I’m watching my brother’s family’s dog this weekend and she has made me so happy.  I need a dog in my life.

 

I don’t have any Saturday night plans (loser) so I may just be reading and watching movies until tomorrow (dork).  Just kidding, there’s nothing else I’d rather do quite frankly.  Plus, I got some company!  Enjoy your Saturday!

How are you planning to spend your Saturday night?

Please share so I can live vicariously through you.

Responses

  1. […] addition to the banana bread I made yesterday, I made some other delicious […]

  2. […] had banana bread for breakfast and it was darn good.  Unlike traditional banana bread that might send your blood […]

  3. […] took it easy last night.  My afternoon consisted of baking more banana bread, reading my book, cooking dinner, and watching Indecent Proposal.  I have never felt like such a […]

  4. […] a good amount of the portion.  It was pretty big anyway Plus, I had to save room for dessert Banana bread with a dark chocolate square and almond butter Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

