Posted by: saramcglothlin | August 29, 2012

WIAW: A Back Porch and a Beer

Let’s get right to it shall we?? Put on your party pants and head over to Jenn’s blog for some more WIAW fun!

What better way to write the last WIAW post of the summer (it’s September next week people!) than with 2 of my favorite staples

A back porch and a beer.  Yes, I actually cancelled Barre class tonight so that I could enjoy the evening exactly like this; well and the fact that yesterday’s class was really intense, and I am finding it difficult to go two days in a row.  I did walk (fast) for an hour this morning, so it’s not like I didn’t do anything…I’m just tuckered out (see beer above).

Breakfast

Blueberry-Banana-Flax Protein Pancake

Are you getting sick of that yet?

In the mix

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 scoop brown rice protein powder
  • 1/2 banana mashed
  • 1 T flax
  • 2 T almond milk
  • blueberries
  • almond butter, 1/2 banana sliced and cinnamon on top

Mid-morning snack

0% Fage yogurt with a grapefruit (I eat mine like an orange)

Lunch

Green Salad (cukes, grape tomatoes, red cabbage, chick peas, broccoli) with curried tofu* and 1/2 avocado; baby carrots


*For the tofu: all I did was dice 1/2 block of pressed tofu and smash with a potato masher.  Mix with 2 T of whole grain mustard and curry powder to taste.  Done!

Mid-Afternoon Snack

Cashew sarabar

Dinner
Not long after dinner, my sweet tooth kicked in, so I had about 1/3 c of Cascadian Farm Ancient Grains Granola with 1/2 banana, dark chocolate chips, almond milk (which I love in my cereal too!), and almond butter splattered on top.
And just to give you a “taste” of fall and what’s to come…
Aside from Pumpkin Ale (!) these are some of my other fall favorites:
  • Pumpkin (enough said)
  • college football
  • chile and corn bread
  • crisp, cool mornings
  • Apple picking
  • red wine
  • fall colors/leaves changing

What will you miss most about the summer?  What are you looking forward to for the fall?

 

Responses

  1. Love Salmon for dinner. Such a quick & delicious meal!

  2. I cannot wait for Gator Football!

    I’m the opposite of most people, winter produce is my favorite, I love apples, oranges and hard squash!

  3. […] Given my love of seafood, it’s no surprise one of my favorite restaurants is located right here in Virginia Beach.  But in order to avoid the “early bird special” crowd, I waited until at least the 7 o’clock hour.  I fixed myself a quick appetizer and took advantage of the back porch.  There’s nothing I like more than a back porch and a beer! […]

  4. […] …but I’m ready to embrace Fall and all its glory.  This is what I love about living in Virginia: that I get to experience actual seasons.    Therefore it always happens to be that while I am sad to see the summer go, I always look forward to the Fall. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

