Posted by: saramcglothlin | August 30, 2012

Sweet Potato Protein Pancake

It is almost the weekend!! Which means…tomorrow is my last day of work for almost 10 days! That’s right, not only do I get a long weekend, but I am taking Tuesday-Friday off next week for a mini-vacation to VA Beach.  Can’t. Wait.  And what’s also very important, I will have internet and my computer, so you get an extra-special beach week edition of the blog!  More on that soon…

Workout

As promised, I started the day with a short but sweaty circuit workout, by mixing and matching some moves I mentioned the other day.  I spent some time last night writing out a routine:

 

Check out my make-shift stapler (i.e. a safety-pin)

So this morning, I started with a 10 minute warm-up on the elliptical, and then got right down to it:

Jump Rope 45 secs
Mtn Climber 1 min
Frog Jump 15 reps
Jump Rope 45 secs
Burpees 1 min
X-Factor 15 reps
Jump Rope 45 secs
Squat to shoulder press/tricep extension 15 reps
Push-ups 10 reps
Jump Rope 45 secs
Crouching tiger kickback 15 reps
Plank 1 min
Jump Rope 45 secs

I definitely worked up a sweat with this routine, but it kind of fell below my expectations.  I spent so much time trying to remember how to do each move (see some “how-to” pics here) that I never got fully focused in the workout.  I also wish I had some more time to do more moves.  BUT I don’t give up easily, and I will revisit this again (and then some)

Breakfast

I had 1/2 a baked sweet potato from the other night just waiting to be used in some sort of breakfast concoction:

In the mix:

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/2 baked sweet potato, mashed
  • 1 T flax
  • 2 T almond milk
  • 1/2 sliced banana with almond butter, cinnamon

YUM!

Lunch

Green salad, Dr. Praeger’s veggie burger, 1/2 avocado; blueberries

 

Dinner

Tonight was not a cooking night, so I snacked on some pretzels and hummus when I got home (paired with a glass of white wine-unpictured) and poured myself a delicious bowl of cereal.

What’s your go-to dinner when you aren’t up for cooking?  

Responses

  1. love me some cereal for dinner. i can also do stove-cooked popcorn or cheese and crackers (much better with a glass of wine, obv). it’s just easier sometimes!

    • Love me some cheese crackers and wine!

  2. I have that same problem with circuits haha!
    I like to do them with my brother becuase when I hesitate on moves, he always knows what to do!

  3. I just have leftovers or take out. I wish I could just have cereal, but I have to feed the kids and husband!

  4. YUM!!!! this looks so good, Sara! You really come up with some AWESOME recipe’s. Your blackbean burger for one thing…LOVE!

  5. […] up around my normal time of 5AM to get a work out in to start the day off right.  I basically did this same exact workout (except spent 20 minutes on the stair-stepper beforehand); the circuit came more easily because I […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

