Posted by: saramcglothlin | September 1, 2012

BYO(A)B

Hey friends!  Happy 3-day weekend…or happy 10-day vacation for me!  It’s off to a great start.  Nellie, one of my best friends from college is in town for a wedding, and I am hosting her until Monday.  I am so lucky that I have gotten to see her three times this summer!

I picked up her boyfriend Eli and her at the train station at 9PM last night, after which we caught up, drank some wine, and headed to a local bar for a couple of hours to meet up with some other friends.  Good times!

I am definitely not used to late nights; it wasn’t so late (for a 27-year old), and I was in bed by 12:30 AM, but I did manage to sleep in until 10AM this morning.  Nellie and I both had breakfast on our brains, so I suggested Lamplighter, a quaint little coffee house down the street from me.  I have only tried their coffee (which can only be described as Aaamazing), but have always wanted to eat there as they have an awesome selection on their menu.

Breakfast is by far my favorite meal of the day, so while their salads and sandwiches sounded delicious, breakfast food is and will always be a must first thing in the day.  I ordered a cup of their homemade granola with yogurt, fruit, and a medium coffee with soy milk

There was no “almond butter” on the menu, and why would there be?  I know not everyone has to have a blob of nut buttery goodness on their morning meal.  That being said…I do, so I made sure to bring my own.  That’s right, see my mini-tupperware container of almond butter above.  BYO(A)B!

As we were leaving, Nellie and I got a glimpse of the local clown car

I am pretty sure I do not want a free hug from whoever drives that thing.  Wierd.

After dropping Eli and Nellie off at the wedding (I don’t know the couple so I wasn’t invited), I headed to the gym.  I started with 25 minutes on the stair-stepper, followed by a 20 minute treadmill workout:

Time Speed Incline
0:00-1:00 4.5 1.0
1:00-3:00 6.5 1.0
3:00-4:00 8.0 1.0
4:00-6:00 5.5 1.0
6:00-8:00 6.5 1.0
8:00-10:00 5.5 1.0
10:00-11:00 4.5 1.0
11:00-12:00 4.5 3.0
12:00-13:00 4.5 6.0
13:00-14:00 4.5 9.0
14:00-15:00 4.5 12.0
15:00-16:00 4.5 15.0
16:00-17:00 4.5 12.0
17:00-18:00 4.5 9.0
18:00-19:00 4.5 6.0
19:00-20:00 4.5 3.0

 

Now I am enjoying a nice lunch on this very overcast Saturday.

Green salad with red cabbage, broccoli, grape tomatoes, cukes, 1/2 avocado, Ellwood’s sun-dried tomato lentil burger, balsamic

 

and I had a side of grapefruit

 

Is there any one food you can’t go a day without?

Responses

  1. An apple and popcorn, just can’t go a day without em.

  2. My love for veggie drinks…everyday at least ONE sometimes even TWO! One for breakfast and one after a light dinner to set some nutrients in my body. I love little coffeehouses there is just something so cute and welcoming about them. I bring stuff with me too when dining out like stevia packets and sea salt sometimes too! Love and Shine CourtStar

  3. […]  I hope everyone had a fantastic weekend.  While I stayed in Richmond, I was so happy to have one of my best friends from college come stay with me.  After she got all of the wedding festivities out of the way, we didn’t […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

