Posted by: saramcglothlin | September 3, 2012

Flying Solo

Happy Labor Day!  I hope everyone had a fantastic weekend.  While I stayed in Richmond, I was so happy to have one of my best friends from college come stay with me.  After she got all of the wedding festivities out of the way, we didn’t do anything but lay around and watch movies alll day yesterday.  Kinda like college now that I come to think of it…

I know the Labor Day holiday officially marks the end of summer for many; however I’m not ready to call it quits quite yet.  Tomorrow I am headed to Virginia Beach for a mini-vacation.  AND it turns out I am headed down there by myself (I might have a friend join me Wednesday, but that’s still up in the air).  If you told my 17-year-old self–the girl who was scared of sitting at a lunch table all alone–that I was going to a beach vacation by myself, she would probably look at you in terror, or worry that my 27-year-old self I has no friends.  But I can assure you that is not the case.  I can honestly say that I have come along way in the past few years in terms of growing more confident, and not only figuring out who I am, but actually accepting and liking who I am.  Therefore, I have no problem flying solo this time around.  I already had a wonderful week of vacation earlier this summer filled with friends and family.  That being said, I am going to take…no make that embrace this opportunity to really relax, recharge my batteries, and clear my head.  Saying I’ve been stressed this summer is an understatement, so I know this is exactly what I need. Plus, the fact that I get to boogie-board for exercise?  Yes please!

Workout

Since Nellie and I had literally been laying in my bed for about 18 hours (total movie count: 5), I was itching for a workout this morning to say the least.  I went for a run, anticipating to do my normal loop, but I actually kept going for an extra mile.  Love it when that happens!

Breakfast

I have been dying to try Tina’s “Oatmeal minus the Oats” ever since seeing it on her blog.  So I followed her recipe to a tee (eh, almost-I left out the walnuts and vanilla); I wanted to get this right, becauseI  was worried how it would turn out if I didn’t

  • 1-2 tbsp ground flaxseed
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 3/4 cup liquid egg whites (or 3 egg whites)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk (add more if desired)

Whisk together the egg whites and almond milk in a medium-size bowl.  Add the rest of the ingredients and mix well.  Pour mixture into a saucepan over medium heat, stirring frequently until an “oatmeal-like” consistency is reached.  Top with berries, nut butter, etc.

I have to admit, I was a little worried about the “soupiness” at first:

 

But then it slowly but surely started to come together

 

 

 

OMO (Oatmeal Minus Oats) with blueberries, almond butter, cinnamon; coffee with almond milk

 

Conclusion?? I ended up loving OMO!  I will say that at first the “slimy” consistency took some getting used to.  But I did get used to it and then some.  I thought it was delicious, not to mention a keeper.  OMO also gets an A+ on the fullness factor: 4.5 hours!

Lunch

Green salad with Ellwood’s oven “fried” tofu, 1/2 avocado; grapefruit

 

 

Prepping for the beach trip ensued (i.e. packing and a pedicure).

 

I also made some more Cashew sarabars to get me through the week (of which I already ate one to get me through to dinner).

 

Dinner

Using what I had on hand, I fixed a quick and light meal:

Hummus, avocado, Dr. Praeger’s veggie burger on a whole wheat wrap; squash puree with cinnamon

 

I need to finish packing.  Can’t wait to bring the blog to the beach!  Everything is better at the beach!

Have you ever gone on vacation solo?  If not, would you?

Responses

  1. I think it’s so great that you might be taking a vacation by yourself. Sounds heavenly to me, and I know you will enjoy every moment! Glad you had a relaxing weekend xoxo

  2. […] you read my post from yesterday, some of you may wonder why I’m vacationing alone.  It might not have been my first choice, […]

  3. […] my last full day in Virginia Beach.  While I am sad to see my vacation come to a close, this week flying solo has been everything I wanted and more.  I feel rested, recharged, and ready for […]

  4. […] this recipe, I filled it with oatless “oats” and brought it to […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

