Posted by: saramcglothlin | September 4, 2012

Life is Better at the Beach

If it’s on a coaster you know it must be true.

Hello from Virginia Beach!  But in all seriousness, life is better at the beach.  I am at my happiest when on the water; I turn into this care-free person who doesn’t think too much.  I can just be and live in the moment.  It’s a wonderful feeling.  Now if I could just put that in some tupperware and bring it back home with me, I’d be all set.

If you read my post from yesterday, some of you may wonder why I’m vacationing alone.  It might not have been my first choice, but I am glad it turned out this way.  As a single 20-something, I’ve had to majorly adjust to this thing they call independence.  I wasn’t born this way you know; I was raised by a loving mother and father who took care of my every need and then some.  While heading off to college was definitely a step in that direction, I wouldn’t say I was without support or a safety net.  That support was further extended when I was lucky enough to go to grad school.  I can never thank my parents enough for my education.

It wasn’t until getting a job post-school, working in the “real world” as they say, that I knew what it felt like to be on my own.  I will tell you (no matter how easy you may have had it) that your mid to late-20s is a difficult time.  In fact, difficult may be sugar-coating it a bit.  Yes there are some fun times (hey, we’re young; enjoy it while you can! sound familiar?) but for me, it was a serious transition period, of which I am still trying to muddle through.  There are bills to pay, broken hearts to mend, and a future to figure out on top of that.  Which brings me to my next point: thank goodness for the beach…and wine.

My goal for these four days is to allow myself to take a breather.  Rarely do I have the chance to do this in my day-to-day.  I am also going to play the selfish card and do things that make me happy, welp, because I deserve that.  Here are my goals for the trip (it’s quite simple):

  • Eat good food
  • Exercise (by walking on the beach. enough said)
  • Lay out in the sun
  • Play in the ocean
  • Read
  • Enjoy it

Those don’t sound so hard.

I left this morning bright and early.  I actually got up around my normal time of 5AM to get a work out in to start the day off right.  I basically did this same exact workout (except spent 20 minutes on the stair-stepper beforehand); the circuit came more easily because I had done it once before.

I finished packing and ate a good breakfast to send me on my way

Blueberry-banana-flax protein pancake; coffee from Starbucks with almond milk

In the mix:

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 scoop brown rice protein powder
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 1 T flax
  • 2 T almond milk
  • blueberries
  • cinnamon
  • 1/2 banana sliced with almond butter blob and cinnamon on top

I had every intention of hitting up The Farm Fresh en route to the house, but after eyeing this gem from the road, I couldn’t resist (and literally swerved into the parking lot)

I stocked up for the week!

 

I was antsy to get oceanfront, so I ate a quick snack (as it was only 10:30 AM): 0% Fage yogurt with a grapefruit

The rest of the afternoon was spent doing this

 

 

 

Oh, and lunch was in there somewhere

Open-faced turkey sandwich, avocado, tomato; 1 apple sliced

 

 

 

Even turkey sandwiches are better at the beach!

I got back to the house around 4:30PM and was starving, so I quickly grabbed a cashew sarabar and a large glass of water.

 

Next on the agenda: Nothing!  There is no agenda.  Well, except figure out what to eat for dinner, which will be something simple.

Is there a place you are at your happiest?

Responses

  1. I. Love. This. Post! I am at my happiest on vacation out west hiking with my family.
    Most people my age don’t like my style of travel (up early, and going, going, going, all day) so I am super impressed by your decision to vaca by yourself!

    • I love being productive on vacation! But ya know, still in a relaxing-do-what-makes-you-happy kinda way

  2. […] after I said I was doing something simple for dinner (in my last post) I remembered I didn’t exactly buy dinner food at the store.   The thought of making a sweet […]

  3. […] I’ve found myself going meatless again.  I enjoyed every last bite of last week’s daily turkey sandwiches, but it did have more to do with nostalgia (love turkey sandwiches at the beach), temperature (love […]

  4. […] past week was an emotional roller coast to say the least; a very hard contrast to last week’s relaxing beach vacation.  But in my wise age of 27, I’ve come to realize that that’s life.  I think as […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

