Posted by: saramcglothlin | September 4, 2012

Tautogs: Table For 1

Right after I said I was doing something simple for dinner (in my last post) I remembered I didn’t exactly buy dinner food at the store.   The thought of making a sweet potato with some hard-boiled eggs–about the only thing I could think of given my selection–turned me off, so I decided, what the heck, I’ll go out.

Given my love of seafood, it’s no surprise one of my favorite restaurants is located right here in Virginia Beach.  But in order to avoid the “early bird special” crowd, I waited until at least the 7 o’clock hour.  I fixed myself a quick appetizer and took advantage of the back porch.  There’s nothing I like more than a back porch and a beer!

 

I bought three different kinds of “snack foods” at Trader Joe’s so I had a little taste plate with some hummus.

 

I headed to Tautog’s an hour later

 

In case you’re wondering:

tautog [tɔːˈtɒg]

n

(Life Sciences & Allied Applications / Animals) a large dark-coloured wrasse, Tautoga onitis, of the North American coast of the Atlantic Ocean: used as a food fish Also called blackfish
With that out of the way…I started off with a glass of Pinot Grigio
For my meal, I ordered the special which consisted of pan-seared snapper with blue crab meat over a basil pesto rice pilaf
The fish was sooo good!  I don’t really like rice, so I left a good amount of the portion.  It was pretty big anyway
Plus, I had to save room for dessert
Banana bread with a dark chocolate square and almond butter
Responses

  1. Did you go to din alone? That’s so badass! Your meal looks absolutely deeelicious!

    • I did! I thought what the hell.


Leave a Reply

Categories

