Posted by: saramcglothlin | September 7, 2012

See Ya Summer

Till next year.  Tomorrow the beach and all its summer glory will just be a memory…

…but I’m ready to embrace Fall and all its glory.  This is what I love about living in Virginia: that I get to experience actual seasons.    Therefore it always happens to be that while I am sad to see the summer go, I always look forward to the Fall.

That being said, I thought I would set some Fall goals:

  • Run another race.  I am hoping not to let my fear stop me from running the 8 miler I have coming up at the end of September
  • Cook with my new crock pot
  • Go apple picking at Carter Mountain Orchard in Charlottesville
  • Do Barre class at least 3 times a week (or substitute with yoga–> that’s free for me with my gym membership; barre is not!)
  • Try and prepare one meal a week using local produce that is in season (pumpkin, pomegranates, brussels sprouts, kale, and beets to name a few)
  • Attend a UVA Football game.  Go Hoos!
  • Carve a pumpkin (and roast the seeds)
  • Make a pumpkin pie

OK, I’m a little more excited now…

Saying goodbye to the beach was not easy.  If it wasn’t for my spray sunscreen running out (and therefore an impending sun burn as a result) I might have never left.  Well that and the fact that it isn’t my house and I have a job waiting for me in Richmond.

Breakfast

After walking my route (another 5.2 miles) on the beach this morning, I fixed the same beach breakfast you’ve been seeing this week

Breakfast tastes better at the beach

Three hours later, after getting a good start to my daily dose of sun (while wearing sunscreen of course), I came back for lunch.  I was being indecisive about what to put on my turkey sandwich, so I made a half of each:

1/2 turkey, avocado, lettuce, tomato; 1/2 turkey, hummus, lettuce; 1 apple sliced; the rest of my tomato sliced

I had no intention of letting hunger disrupt my last afternoon in the sun and sand, so I packed a snack this time

Cashew sarabar

And drank a lot of water

Unfortunately, it was time to say goodbye.  While I packed up my things, I had another quick snack

Babybel Light cheese round

And then I packed up a dinner and hit the road

Almond butter and banana sandwich on whole wheat, TJ’s Baked Lentil chips, apple

 

Not a lot of veggies today, I know…back to the grind tomorrow I guess.

What are your goals for Fall?  Food/fitness related or not?

Leave a Reply

Categories

