Posted by: saramcglothlin | September 10, 2012

So Simple Meatless Meals

Hi guys!  I hope everyone had a good Monday.  Mine was hectic to say the least.  Playing catch-up after vacation is not easy.  I had to pause and take a few deep breaths throughout the day.  I wanted to take a walk outside mid-afternoon (since it was gorgeous) but I didn’t get a chance to look up from my computer, let alone leave the office.  Good thing it had been a very restful vacation so I was able to bounce back more easily.

So I’ve found myself going meatless again.  I enjoyed every last bite of last week’s daily turkey sandwiches, but it did have more to do with nostalgia (love turkey sandwiches at the beach), temperature (love cool turkey sandwiches at the beach), and convenience (it’s easy to make so I can go back to the beach quickly).  When given a preference, I lean towards more vegetarian fare.

Take last night for example: I went over to my brother’s house for Sunday Night Dinner.  We ended up ordering take-out and I picked portabello for my salad topper.  I used to always choose grilled chicken.  Hmm..

Baby spinach salad with apples, pines nuts, gorgonzola, portabello, O&V dressing

Today’s meals were all meatless.  I have a few new meals to share as well!

Breakfast

Pumpkin Protein Pancake

It’s back and taking over my pantry.  I bought 6 cans at the grocery store yesterday…every woman for herself!

I topped it with a spoonful of almond butter and took it to work

In the mix:

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 scoop brown rice protein powder
  • 1/2 c pumpkin (I use Libby’s)
  • 1 T flax seed meal
  • 2 T almond milk
  • dash(es) of cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice

Mid-morning snack

Craving those veggies: red pepper slices and baby carrots with 0% Fage yogurt

Lunch

Curried tofu atop a green salad with 1/2 avocado and balsamic vinegar

For the tofu: I used to make this all the time and it is so simple.  Slice desired amount of tofu into small cubes and mash it with a potato masher or fork.  Mix with spicy brown mustard (you can also include veganaise but I choose not to) and curry powder to taste.  Done!

Mid-Afternoon snack

I made more cashew sarabars, this time with more cashew than dried fruit so this batch literally tastes like cashew cookie dough. YUM!

Dinner

I totally “winged” this dinner.  All I knew was that after spending enough at the grocery store yesterday (without planning for daily dinners) I was going to use what I had on hand and see what I could come up with.

I started with a can of black beans for so simple black bean burgers

Makes 2 patties

  • 1 can black beans, drained
  • 1 T Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 clove garlic, mashed
  • 1/2 T tahini

In a large bowl, mash beans until they are a semi-smooth/semi-chunky consistency.  Add the rest of the ingredients and form into patties.  Refrigerate mixture for 30 minutes so that all flavors can meld.  Heat on medium heat for 4-5 minutes per side

I then put one on a bed of romaine lettuce with sweet potato fries, peach salsa, and cottage cheese (which I was a little scared to try but was actually quite tasty!)

 

 

A piece of dark chocolate with almond butter for dessert!

Have you ever gone through phases of not being able to eat certain foods?

Responses

  1. […] morning’s breakfast was the same as yesterday’s but topped with a banana as […]

  2. […] Pumpkin Protein Pancake with cottage cheese, almond butter, and cinnamon […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

