Posted by: saramcglothlin | September 13, 2012

Spaghetti Squash with Sauteed Spinach and Scallops

I swear that alliteration was not done on purpose.  Does make for a fun blog title though!

I was in a seafood mood this evening, so I popped by the grocery store (with no plan in mind) and this is what I came up with:

Spaghetti Squash with Sautéed Spinach and Scallops

  • 4 jumbo sea scallops
  • Spaghetti squash, baked
  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 1 T EVOO
  • 1 clove garlic, mashed
  • EVOO cooking spray
  • sea salt and pepper

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Halve spaghetti squash and lay face-down on a baking sheet.  Cook for 45 mins – 1 hour.

Heat small pan over medium-high heat.  Add 1 T EVOO and garlic to pan.  Add spinach and sautee until wilted.

For the scallops, Spray medium pan with cooking spray and heat over medium heat.  Coat scallops with cooking spray, sea salt, and pepper and cook 4 minutes on one side, 2-3 minutes on the other.

Top cooked spaghetti squash with spinach and scallops.  Enjoy!

 

 

*Tip

After halving spaghetti squash, I would always remove seeds/pulp before baking.  I always found this to be kind of a pain (but relatively less of a pain compared to actually cutting the squash itself…does anyone have a trick for this?).  Tonight however, I forgot to remove the seeds/pulp before baking and therefore had to do it once cooked.  It was so much easier!  Came out with no effort at all.

 

 

While summer is by far my favorite season for fruit, I do love the vegetable produce in the Fall/Winter.  Enter: Spaghetti Squash.

What’s your favorite Fall veggie?

Responses

  1. OMG YUMMM your meals looks amazing and SO professional! Can’t wait to see you tomorrow!

  2. I’ll count all hard squash as one favorite 🙂

    Fall is my favorite for fruit as well becuase I eat apples and oranges literally every day year round!

  3. I have been a fan of spaghetti squash for several years. Here is what I usually do with it: I have boiled it in a large pot (such as used when cooking spaghetti or corn on the cob) for a half hour to 40 mins. Then it is easy to cut in half and scoop out all that mess. Although I bet roasting it may give it more flavor. I know what you mean about cutting it in half in order to bake it because I have encountered this problem with acorn squash as well. The solution is to prick the squash with the tines of a fork and then microwave it for a few mins. to soften it, then bake as you mentioned. The way I have served it is – put as much of the “spaghetti” in a pasta bowl as you like topped with a marinara sauce with sauteed onions, bell peppers, celery and mushrooms and sprinkle on grated parmesan.
    Mom


Leave a Reply

Categories

