Posted by: saramcglothlin | September 17, 2012

Health Warrior

I love that term: Health Warrior.  It’s connotation resonates the association between healthy and strong.  “Healthy” can mean different things for different people.  It could pertain more to reaching a fitness goal, eating better, or getting to a good place mentally, all of which I would say result in better health.  However I will also argue that a girl’s (or guy’s) attempt to “get healthy” can be taken too far; to a point where “healthy” means thin.  I’m speaking from experience here people, so in no way am I judging.  I blame society–cliché or not, it’s true.

Back to the purpose of this post.  Health Warrior is not only a term, it’s a company, and my new place of employment!!!

 

 

 

Check out Amazon to get your own box of chia bars…the coconut flavor by the way?  Healthy Samoa cookie.  I kid you not.

 

Sooo I am BEYOND excited!! I love everything this company stands for (please read Health Warrior’s story here).  It feels so good to think that from here on out, I will be waking up every morning, able to go to work for something I am passionate about, leaving the doldrums of Wall Street behind me.  As cheesy as it sounds, it’s all I have ever dreamed of to work in a nutrition/health related field, and just over the course of three days, my dreams have come true.

Chia seeds are a staple in my kitchen, and now, they’re my job!

  • On pancakes

  • In Oatmeal

  • In smoothies

 

So versatile, and SO good for you!

Was I actively looking for a job?  No.  I was honestly content with where I worked.  But that’s the thing: I was content.  I want more out of life.  I want to be able to go into each day with eagerness and excitement about what I am doing, so when this opportunity arose, I seized it.

This blog originated to fill a void in my life.  I had fallen into my current career and knew all along there was something missing; I wasn’t fulfilled.  sarasmiles has allowed me to tap into my interests of fitness and nutrition; NOW all I can think is that this will be my job.  I couldn’t feel luckier.  The blog will stick around, but it could take a turn.  We shall see what evolves.

On another note, I wanted to share a few new eats with you from today.

Breakfast

Pumpkin Protein Pancake with cottage cheese, almond butter, and cinnamon

 

Don’t knock it until you try it.  Salty-Sweet in the flesh.

Dinner

Pesto Spaghetti Squash with white beans and spinach

 

I simply heated some left-over spaghetti squash in the microwave for 3 minutes, then mixed in 1.5T of pesto.  After sautéing the spinach for 5 minutes, I added white beans to the pan to cook for 2 more minutes.  Combine spinach mixture with squash, and sprinkle with red pepper flakes (optional, but I like it hot).

Have a good night friends!

Are you happy with your current job, or do you have other dreams?  What are they?

Responses

  1. YAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So flippin excited for and proud of you!!!!

  2. Congrats Sara!!! So excited for you.

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Congratulations!!!

  4. Congratulations, Sara….I am really excited for you!!!

  5. CONGRATS!! that is sooooooo freakin’ awesome!!! I would LOVE to work for a health type company… you go girl!

    • Thanks lady!! I am SO excited


Leave a Reply

Categories

