Posted by: saramcglothlin | September 18, 2012

Your Masterpiece

 

Because I am far from philosophical, I had no idea what this quote meant.  My coworker Anne put it on my desk this morning.  The last line struck me however: “…because you are the masterpiece of your own life.”

Anne has become a very important person in my life.  We sit on our own little island in our office and frequently sometimes take breaks from our tasks at hand to talk about love (mostly me; she’s been happily married for over 20 years), life, and local gossip.  She’s seen me laugh, cry, and cuss like a sailor and although I’m about to embark on a new adventure in the career of my dreams, I can’t help but wonder what I’m going to do without her everyday.  At least I will only be about 2 blocks from my old office, so it’s not that despairing…

I am not going to tell you that deciding to make the career switch was difficult, because it wasn’t.  Let’s just say that I hope my new boss didn’t hear me jumping up and down over the phone when he called to offer me the job.  But that’s not to say that change isn’t scary, because entering the unknown in almost any situation can be very scary.

It’s easy to go through the motions of this thing we call life and forget that this is the one chance we get.  There are no do-overs; I could have stayed in my job at the big, bad bank and been (predictably) comfortble…successful even.  But would I have looked back over everything years down the road and felt I had been totally true to myself?  That I’m not so sure of.  Rarely do I feel that people get the chance to do/work/live in ways that make them fulfilled and happy.  The question is though, am I the type of person to take a risk to see if this opportunity will be that for me?  Hell yeah.

Speaking of Health Warrior, look what arrived today

 

After trying the Coconut Chia Bar, I had to buy a box on Amazon.  I might be biased, but I am also a healthy, hungry girl like the rest of you, so I know what I’m talking about…you have to try it!

Headed to barre class…goodnight!

Leave a Reply

Categories

