Posted by: saramcglothlin | September 20, 2012

My Month Without T.V.

Have you ever heard to unplug your appliances during a thunder storm?  Without a surge protector, there’s a chance lightning can strike and blow out your computer or TV  It’s one of those things where I simply shrug it off with the “that’ll never happen” attitude.  Well, it happened.  About a month ago, I heard this overly loud clap of thunder and a simultaneous strike of lightning in the middle of the night.  Then the next day, my TV didn’t work.  The “Power” light would come on but then start flashing and sort of click at me.  It was very frustrating.  I don’t normally watch that much TV, but it was a rainy Saturday, and the only thing I wanted to do was watch a movie.  Wasn’t going to happen.

I did OK for about three weeks.  I found other ways to fill my time:

  • I read a lot

  • I baked

  • I blogged (while drinking beer)

  • I took long walks

  • And I was busy in barre

 

It was actually quite nice without a TV and I didn’t miss it.  It was a good break from the trash on television, and I felt more productive.  But then football season started…I am a huge college football fan (i.e. UVA football fan) and as the first two weekends went by with the first two WINS we had, I caved and bought a new one

But then it still didn’t work…

A week, a long wait on the phone with Verizon and a new cable box later, I was finally back up and running

 

 

And yes, that is Keeping Up With The Kardashians on the screen.  I said it was a nice break from the trash, I didn’t say I didn’t like it…

Do you watch a lot of television?  If not, how else do you fill your time?

Dinner of the Day

I’ve noticed my breakfasts and lunches are pretty repetitive.  I tend to eat the same thing (or along the same lines) every day.  My dinners however are usually different, so if this is the case on a given day, I will spare you the redundancy.

Pesto Tofu Salad

The base is just a mix of veggies (spinach, broccoli, cukes, grape tomatoes, red cabbage).

For the tofu, I simply cut 1/3 block of tofu into cubes and mixed with 1.5T of pesto.  Done!

I also incorporated 1/2 avocado because I hadn’t had my fix yet

 

Baked sweet potato on the side

 

And a piece of dark chocolate with almond butter for dessert

 

Tomorrow is the last day at my current job.  I have been there two years, and although I am overjoyed to start my new job next week, there is definitely an element of sadness as I leave the people who I have seen day in and day out.  That’s a lot of time to spend with a group of people.  I will get a pretty good goodbye; Anne is treating me to a long lunch at La Grotta and then after work there is a going-away gathering in my honor at Blue Goat.  I don’t hate attention…

Have a good night!

Responses

  1. I literally JUST unplugged my cable box about an hour ago!
    I will be traveling for work for a month before begening my new job in November.
    Considering I have the attention span of a two year old an can’t sit through an hour long tv show I figured paying for background noise just wasn’t worth it when I’ll be gone for so long!

  2. Whooaaa I didn’t know u were out of power that’s crazy! Nellie and I somehow lived our ENTIRE FIRST YEAR in NYC without cable! It’s hard to imagine now, but it really wasn’t that difficult. Frankly I think it’s really good thing to do every now and again. Yay for last day of old life!

    • I wasn’t out of power! Just tv silly. But it was a nice break!

  3. Congrats on the new job..very exciting!! Hope it’s all you want it to be.XO

    • Thanks Cindy! I’m SO excited!


Leave a Reply

Categories

