Posted by: saramcglothlin | September 24, 2012

First Day

I thought I had to be at work at 8AM this morning, so I set my alarm 30 minutes later (to 5:15AM–sheesh) and hit the gym to sweat out some of my nervous-excited energy.  I wanted to actually sit down at a table (my work desk doesn’t count) and have my breakfast and coffee at home for once, so I allotted an extra 20 minutes before having to leave for work.  As I settled down over my protein pancakes, I learned I wasn’t expected until 9AM.  Just enough time for a blog post!  What a great morning…

Workout

  • I did 25 minutes on the stair-stepper while reading this month’s issue of Fitness magazine.  This is my go-to when I really want to get my heart rate up
  • I knew I wanted to incorporate some sort of circuit next, and I had Julie’s Ab workout readily available on my iPhone

Source

I didn’t have 30 minutes, so I had to truncate it a bit.  I also substituted another form of ab exercise every time I saw “on exercise ball;” I am normally a very coordinated person but an exercise ball and me have never gotten along.  My version went something like this:

Jump Rope 45 secs
Plank 1 min
Jump Rope 45 secs
Side plank (right) 1 min
Jump Rope 45 secs
Side plank (left) 1 min
Jump Rope 45 secs
Crunches 1 min
Jump Rope 45 secs
Kettle bell side lift (right) 1 min
Jump Rope 45 secs
Kettle bell side lift (left) 1 min
Jump Rope 45 secs

Breakfast

I made sure to prepare a hearty, chia-filled breakfast for my first day.  I made a batch of Blueberry-Banana-Flax Protein Pancakes.  I think this was my prettiest batch yet.  Yes, I’m aesthetic like that

 

And topped them with almond butter, 1/2 banana, and of course Health Warrior chia seeds

 

It’s the prettiest day ever outside.  Perfect for a first day at a dream job.  Happy Monday!

Responses

  1. Sara!! Congrats on your first day! SO excited for you and I cannot wait to see more updates on the job front via the blog. Have such a great day!

  2. HOW WAS IT?!?!?!?!

  3. I hope your first day was fabulous! I’d love to hear more about your job – it sounds awesome!!

  4. You don’t like the exercise ball and we happened to use it for the first time ever this morning for your first day! Those pancakes look awesome.

    • I know so can you imagine how intimidated I was by that part?? Despite almost falling a couple of times, I think I did OK. That class kicked my butt…I can’t wait to go back!

  5. Love hearing about your new job , so glad you are happy and enjoying it!
    Cindy Hagy

    • I am so glad you are keeping up with me and my new job! I could talk about Health Warrior all day long


Leave a Reply

Categories

