Posted by: saramcglothlin | September 27, 2012

Body Pump Revisited

I have been taking advantage of my extra hour each morning, trying to attend an exercise class as many days as I can.  It is such a nice change to be working out with a group, rather than trying to motivate myself at 5:00 AM.  I also think it will force me to switch up my workouts in order to reap some physical and mental benefits.  That being said, with all the big changes happening in my daily routine and well, life in general, my mind is scattered to say the least.  Thinking today was Wednesday, I got all geared up to attend “Athletic Conditioning w/ Anna.”  As if a big burly male instructor wasn’t proof enough that I had walked into the wrong class (scatter-brained I tell ya), the first 10 minutes seemed awfully similar to Body Pump.  I finally realized that it was in fact Body Pump when the instructor (Mike P.) yelled “this is YOUR body pump, give it all you got!”

I hadn’t done body pump in a couple of years.  I started going when reading about how much Tina loved it; I also thought I needed to incorporate more strength training into my routine.  Then I got hooked on Body Step instead, and tried to lift on my own, but it was never the same.  It wasn’t until barre class came about that I actually felt like I was gaining more muscle.

I know for a fact barre has helped me to get stronger; I can see and feel the difference from a short 3 months ago when I started.  But Body Pump today made me feel like a weak little girl.  Nowadays, I don’t want to be super skinny, I want to be strong, fit and toned.  I think incorporating more Body Pump in my life will help me get there.  And after reading some of the research paper I found on the benefits of Body Pump, it motivated me more.  No one can argue with science.

Do you incorporate strength training into your workouts?  How so?

I came home and ate a fiber & protein packed breakfast.  I needed it!


Happenings at Health Warrior

This is an exciting time for the company.  We just signed a global launch with Whole Foods so our products will be sold in every store!  I am currently in the process of planning some demos of our chia bars.  You know the people behind the little tables that allow you to sample their cracker, dip, granola bar (what have you) in hopes that you will buy?  Yep, that will be me!

We were also featured in a NewHope360 article today!  We ranked in the top 15 for having one of the prettiest package designs out of all the products at Natural Expo East last week.  Read it here.

I have also gotten addicted to the salads at Urban Farmhouse, the best cafe that offers fresh, organic, locally sourced ingredients on their menu.  Unfortunately for my wallet (ahem, $13 salad), it is right around the corner from my new office.  Today, I got the Butternut Squash salad with tofu:

Roasted butternut squash on mixed greens, with cranberries, walnuts, parmesan, tofu, apple cider vinaigrette

and an apple on the side

 

I can’t believe my first week at Health Warrior is almost over.  I cannot be more excited about what is to come!

Dinner

Pesto Tofo ‘Sghetti

 

  • 1/2 spaghetti squash
  • 3 handfuls of spinach, steamed
  • 1/2 c Muir Organic Tomato Basil sauce
  • 1/3 block of tofu, cut into 1/4″ cubes
  • 1-2 T pesto
  • red pepper flakes (optional)

Halve spaghetti squash** Bake for 35-45 minutes at 400 degrees.  While cooking, mix together tofu and pesto.  Steam spinach.  Combine into a bowl, top with red pepper, and enjoy!

**Courtesy of my culinarily (word?) talented mom, there is a trick to halving a spaghetti squash that prevents you from wanting to throw it out of the window in frustration: using a fork, poke holes in the skin of the squash (like you would a potato) and microwave for 3 minutes.  It is much easier to slice post-nuking.

Happy almost Friday friends!

Responses

  1. It’s all so exciting! Love hearing about your new gig. I need to get me some Health Warrior!

    • I’m so excited about it everyday! And yes you do…at your local whole foods!

  2. I am so glad for your spaghetti squash tip–that’s always the worst! I also love Body Pump because I feel so strong and empowered every time I up my weight….even if it simultaneously makes me want to die a thousand deaths.


Leave a Reply

Categories

