Posted by: saramcglothlin | September 28, 2012

I Swear I’m in Shape

In contrast to yesterday, I actually walked into the right exercise class this morning; in fact, it just so happened to be “Athletic Conditioning w/ Anna.”  I knew nothing about this one, but any time a description pairs cardio with strength training, I’m game.  They are the best workouts in my opinion.

Athletic Conditioning is a 60-minute class in which participants will  increase their heart rates with a 20-30 minute cardio circuit style session. Then participants will use various equipment as well as their own body resistance to strengthen and tone the major muscle groups of the body. This class will challenge your entire body and condition you to work harder and play longer at your sport of choice.

You can just go ahead and throw my past year of running out of the window, because this class kicked my butt!  Although I know this isn’t the case, it made me feel so out of shape.  To sum up, it was an hour-long circuit workout, similar to those exercises I’ve been half-assing doing on my own, with shorter breaks, more reps, and an instructor refusing you to stop.  BUT I knew I was in there for a reason and if I hadn’t given it 100% I would have walked out of there with regret.  The class went something like this:

  • 5 minute warm-up
  • 5 minute “Quick Challenge:” 1 minute each of push-ups, mountain climbers, side plank (right), side plank (left), burps (ugh)
  • 30 minutes of partner strength/cardio work: this was tough but fun, especially since I found an old friend from high school in the class work, who I partnered up with (duh).  This section consisted of spider-man crawl, skips, sprints, while your partner did shoulder presses, triceps curls, bicep curls, chest presses.
  • Another 5 minute Quick Challenge!  Yea, this was not well-received by the group
  • 10 minutes of back & ab work, squats, lunges
  • 5 minute cool-down.

I’m exhausted just thinking about it.  And I can’t wait to go back!

Breakfast

Pumpkin Protein Pancake

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 scoop brown rice protein powder
  • 1 T flax
  • 1/3 c pure pumpkin
  • 3 T almond milk
  • cinnamon
  • almond butter, banana, Health Warrior chia on top

    

Happenings at Health Warrior

My first week at Health Warrior has come to a close.  I still can’t believe this is my job and I get to wake up and do this each day!  While many of my daily duties this week have been primarily administrative, there is so much to look forward to.  For example, since we just signed a nation-wide launch with Whole Foods, the HW team and I will be making an effort to visit each store along the east coast, demoing and getting to know the management.  Face time is important in my opinion…we are real people/athletes/ health nuts just like you, and it’s fun to mingle and share stories!

I have also been assembling my fair share of Health Warrior packages.  They go to all sorts of folks: investors, celebrities, nutritionists, journalists/magazines, athletes.  I am hoping one day to do a give-away of the sorts but would like to get better established in the company first.

And check out our T-shirt.  I will be representin’ tomorrow at the Maymont 8-miler!

I had lunch somewhere in there

Green salad with curried tempeh salad and 1/2 avocado; side of brussels sprouts

Time to pair some (more) fun with all this fun work.  I have plans to go to Hardywood Brewery for a couple of beers.  It will just be a couple-I have to get my runner’s rest for the race that’s bright and early tomorrow…happy Friday!

What is the hardest workout/exercise class you have ever done?  How did you feel afterwards?

Responses

  1. I missed you Wednesday…and you missed me falling off of the ball! Hope to see you tomorrow!

    • I know, I missed being in the class! I actually went to the Spin class that morning because I wanted something low-impact. I actually loved the spin class, so I’m thinking I might do that on Wednesdays and would love to have you join me! I’ll try and make it to AC tomorrow morning…hope you’ve had a good week!

  2. i like to do bicep curls because i would really love to have those large biceps. ive been doing some weight training lately and its doing good. `’`,`

    The latest posting provided by our new blog
    http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/dhea-dosage/


Leave a Reply

Categories

