Posted by: saramcglothlin | September 30, 2012

Maymont 8-Miler & a Wedding To Boot

I have had a pretty eventful weekend and am feeling it today.  After running (and finishing!) the Maymont 8-miler yesterday morning, a couple of friends and I drove up to Washington D.C. for a wedding.  Let’s just say my legs were not happy with me when the band started playing “Shout;” they practically refused to “get a little softer now.”  Of course I still cut quite the rug, but still can’t wait for a quiet evening with my family at Sunday night dinner.  

The race was bright and early on Saturday morning.  I can’t believe my alarm went off at 5 AM but I wanted to make sure to eat a good breakfast an hour and a half before the start.

Pumpkin Protein Pancakes

 

 

I added a dollop of Chobani plain greek yogurt and topped it with the usual almond butter, banana, chia seed combo

It powered me through!

 

 

Health Warrior represent!

My coworker Jennifer also came out and handed our chia bars out to racers.  They were a hit!

 

With 2 bars left…compared to Nature Valley.  #competition

I finished the race in an hour, 30 minutes.  The course was basically all trails which was actually fun.  I think if it had been a road race I would have felt the 8 miles a lot more.  I have never run that long in my life though, so I had a great sense of accomplishment when crossing the finish line.

Jennifer and I after finishing.

We hit the road soon after, but not before I could get a snack in me.  Running 8 miles makes you hungry!

 

After the 2 hour trek to D.C., I found some lunch as soon as I checked into my hotel.  A Cosi was near by so I ordered a hummus sandwich on whole wheat with tomatoes, cukes, roasted red peppers, and spinach; I also had a small lentil soup on the side.

 

After an hour-long nap while watching Harry Potter (yes, I said it), it was time for the festivities to begin.  It was a beautiful night and I couldn’t have been happier for the newlyweds.

 

Drinks on the deck of the hotel to start

 

While catching up with some old friends from high school

 

The wedding was held at the historic St. John’s Church, a block away from The White House

 

 

My beautiful roommate and I at the reception

 

 

Christian is a lucky man.  Liz is probably the funniest girl I know.  He’s in for a life of laughing.

It was a sit-down dinner, and everything was perfect, from the meals down to the wine and the center piece.

 

Spinach salad with grape tomatoes, endive, and a goat cheese medallion.

 

 

Surf & turf entrée

 

Congrats Liz & Christian!

 

What’s the longest distance you’ve run?  Are there any goals you have set for yourself in terms of running races?


Responses

  1. Congrats on the race, I bet you’ve just discovered how addicting accomplishing new distances can be 🙂

    Ain’t no shame in Harry Potter! Come to think of it, ABC Family hasn’t had a Harry Potter Weekend in quite some time…Yes please!

    • It was such a good feeling! I think a half marathon would be my limit though. I’m sorry to say I’m behind on my HP movies…still have the last 2 to watch!

  2. Congrats on the 8-miler! That’s awesome, and you look SMOKIN in the Health Warrior gear! Love.it.

  3. pumpkin pancakes are amazing!! Congrats on the race!


Leave a Reply

Categories

