Posted by: saramcglothlin | October 2, 2012

What’s Aztec Warriors Got To Do With It?

I hope you’re not chia’d out yet.  Now that my day revolves around the chia seed and Health Warrior, I am learning so much everyday-about the nutrition, company, and natural foods industry in general-that I only think it’s fair to share it with y’all.

Part of my job will be to demo in as many locations as I can.  I will be setting up shop in Whole Foods, running stores, and health clubs far and wide serving up our mighty chia bars.  This is not as easy as it sounds.  When it comes to slicing, serving, and smiling I think I can handle it…customers’ questions on the other hand is a different story.

Our philosophy and founding is based on the book Born to Run by Christopher McDougall.  When read by Health Warriors’ current leaders (Dan, Nick, & Shane) they noticed a repeat mention of the chia seed:

“In terms of nutritional content, a tablespoon of chia is like a smoothie made from salmon, spinach and human growth hormone.  As tiny as those seeds are, they’re super packed with omega-3s, omega-6s, protein, calcium, iron, zinc, fiber, and antioxidants.  If you had to pick just one desert island food, you couldn’t do much better than chia, at least if you were interested in building muscle, lowering cholesterol, and reducing your risk of heart disease; after a few months on the chia diet, you could probably swim home.”

I love that quote.  Don’t we all want to eat in a way that makes us feel strong, healthy, and energized?  I know I do.

To prep for my upcoming demo this Friday at the Urban Farmhouse, I read and researched.

I am not a nutritionist, or a class-A athlete, so I definitely want to learn as much as I can about chia’s nutritional profile.  I will not bore you by paraphrasing the material (although I’m tempted), but I will highlight a few new interesting facts I learned today:

  • Health Warrior imports its chia from one of few original sources in Bolivia.  This is important!  Like grape vines for wine making, the quality of the chia seed is very dependent on the soil, elevation, and indigenous nature of the plant.  Supposedly, the chia plant is not hard to grow (hello, chia pet?) but significant nutritional breakdown occurs when not originated from original South American sources.
  • In terms of an evaluation of protein quality, chia scores a .91 (on a scale of 0-1.0) which falls just shy of beef (.92).
  • On the Glycemic Index Scale from 1-150, chia seeds measure 1, meaning it has a negligible effect on insulin levels.
  • Chia seeds were a main food staple of the Aztec Warriors–>This I knew…I did read Born to Run and “Aztec Warrior” is practically a household name around my office.  But who were they exactly?  I wanted to know more (I blame the teacher in me) and I know you do too:

Indians of the Southwest would eat as little as a teaspoon of chia seeds during a 24-hour march. Indians ran from the Colorado River to the Pacific Ocean to trade turquoise for shells, carrying only a pouch of chia seed for nourishment. Sustained by chia seed, the Tarahumara Indians of Mexico hunted by running their prey to exhaustion. Source.

Pretty cool, huh?

Here’s how I got my daily fix:

Chia Pumpkin Oatmeal

Bring the almond milk to a boil.  Lower heat to a simmer and add oats and chia seeds (adding them at this time will make your oatmeal extra fluffy!).  After 5 minutes, add pumpkin, egg white, and cinnamon.  Cook 5 more minutes or until desired degree of doneness.

 

I topped mine with a T of almond butter, banana, and cinnamon

 

 

Other eats from today:

Lunch

Green salad to-go with tofu packed with 1/2 baked potato (sliced and cooked at 400 degrees for 45 minutes) and 1/2 avocado

 

When I got home, I enjoyed a glass of red wine with some Red Hot Blues and hummus while making dinner

 

Dinner

 

  • Whole wheat sandwich thin, fried egg, hummus
  • kale chips
  • Honey-balsamic roasted butternut squash

For the butternut squash:

 

I used already prepared fresh-cut butternut squash and mixed 1 T EVOO, 1 T balsamic, 1/2 T of honey.  After pouring mixture over squash, bake for 30 minutes at 400 degrees.

Do you eat chia seeds?  Are you aware of their extensive nutritional profile? 

Responses

  1. I want to put in my order for the seeds and some bars right away!!!! Mom

    • Great! You can order the bars on Amazon now; there is a world shortage of chia seeds at the moment so our new supply is coming in the next few weeks after which you can order those online too!

      Just search Health Warrior Chia or go to our website http://www.healthwarrior.com and click Buy Now!

  2. Chia Pumpkin Oatmeal looks so good! Can not wait to try that for a breakfast one day next week!

    • Do and let me know what you think! I added the chia with the oats for the first time in that batch and I loved how it turned out!


Leave a Reply

Categories

