Posted by: saramcglothlin | October 7, 2012

Some Weekend Recipes

It’s rainy and chilly here in Richmond; I actually have my Uggs on (which I wear primarily as slippers) for the first time this season.  I actually love these types of Fall mornings however, especially when they fall (cheesy pun intended) on a Sunday.  I woke up early, got my workout in and grocery shopped, so now I can just sit back and relax.

After a fun Friday night, I laid low for all of Saturday: ran some errands, went on a long walk, and watched UVA get creamed by Duke.  I did whip up some good food in the midst of it all that I thought I’d share.

Avocado cashew tempeh salad

  • 4 oz tempeh, cut into 1/2 in. cubes (I used Lightlife’s Three Grain)
  • 2 T plain greek yogurt (I used Chobani 0%)
  • 1.5 T whole grain mustard
  • 1/2 avocado, mashed
  • 1/8 c whole, raw cashews
  • dashes of: chili powder, salt, pepper

Before going out Friday night, I topped this salad on a whole wheat wrap with romaine lettuce

which I then had to eat burrito-style

 

It was one of those meals where I was glad no one was watching me eat it.

 

Blackberry-banana protein pancakes

 

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 scoop brown rice protein powder
  • 1/2 banana, mashed
  • 1 T ground flax
  • 2 T almond milk
  • cinnamon to taste
  • topped with: 1 T HW chia seeds, 2 spoonfuls of greek yogurt, 1/2 sliced banana, blackberries, almond butter, cinnamon

Parmesan & cracked pepper kale chips

 

  • 2 stalks kale, ripped into “chip-sized” pieces
  • EVOO cooking spray (I used Spectrum)
  • sea salt & pepper
  • parmesan, grated
  • red pepper flakes (optional)

On a foil-lined baking sheet, evenly distribute kale.  Spray with cooking spray, sprinkle with salt, pepper, and parmesan, and top with red pepper flakes for some spice.  Bake for 20 minutes at 375 degrees.

Cashew sarabar squares

 

  • 2 c raw cashews
  • 1 c dried apricots
  • 6 Medjool dates, pitted and sliced

In a food processor, grind the cashews until almost a “cashew butter” consistency.  Add the remaining 2 ingredients until mixed well.  The total time should be about 10-15 minutes.  Knead the dough into an inch-thick slab and cut into desired sized squares. Refrigerate.

Pumpkin chia “oatless” oats

 

  • 3 egg whites
  • 1/2 almond milk
  • 1.5 T ground flax
  • 1 T HW chia
  • 1/2 c pureed pumpkin
  • cinnamon & pumpkin pie spice to taste

In a medium bowl, whisk egg whites and almond mix until blended.  Add the rest of the ingredients and transport to a small saucepan.  Cook over medium heat for 10 minutes or until desired consistency.

I topped my batch with a banana, almond butter, and cinnamon.

 

Enjoy your Sunday!  Do you have a weekend recipe to share?

Responses

  1. Loving all these recipes, especially the pumpkin “oatless” oats! Hope you had a wonderful weekend xo


Leave a Reply

Categories

