Posted by: saramcglothlin | October 8, 2012

Pumpkin Tempeh Chili

Yesterday felt like Fall for the first time all season.  Having the temperature drop 40 degrees in the matter of a few days sent my body into a little bit of a shock.  So how did I cope?  I broke out the crock pot of course

Sometimes when it comes to cooking, I can be all bark and no bite, saying that I will make this and that but never do.  Making pumpkin chili has been on my list for a while now, so I finally scratched it off.

Pumpkin Tempeh Chili

I basically followed Skinnytaste’s Crock Pot Turkey White Bean Pumpkin Chili recipe to a tee, but instead of turkey meat, I substituted 4 oz of tempeh (crumbled) and made some other tweaks along the way:

Ingredients:

  • EVOO cooking spray
  • 4 oz tempeh, crumbled (I used Lightlife’s Three Grain)
  • 1/2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tsp chili powder, to taste
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 (15 oz can) of black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 (15 oz can) of red kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • 15 oz can pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 4.5 oz canned chopped green chile
  • 2 cups low sodium, vegetable broth
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Heat a large heavy saute pan over high heat and lightly spray with EVOO cooking spray. Add crumbled tempeh and cook, about 5 minutes.  Add to crock pot. *I realize now that this step is not necessary, but I was litterally following the other recipe.


Add oil to the pan, then onions and garlic and cook for about 3 – 4 minutes.  Add umin and cook another minute.

 

Add to crock pot. Add beans, pumpkin puree, green chilis, broth, chili powder, and oregano

Stir it all up and add bay leaves.  Cover and cook on high for 4 hours or low for 8 hours.

I couldn’t wait to dig into this for dinner tonight!

Now, I am kind of a person of “pairs” and have a hard time eating chili without corn bread.  I love Sarah’s  recipe featured in her cookbook and it’s always my go-to when the moment strikes.  However, I didn’t have all the ingredients on hand, so I had some more tweaking to do:

Original

  • 1 c corn meal
  • 1 c whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 T organic sugar
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 c vegan margarine (i.e. Earth Balance), melted
  • 1 c non-dairy milk
  • honey (optional)

My Recipe

  • 1 c corn meal
  • 1 c whole wheat pastry flour almond meal
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 T organic sugar agave
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 c vegan margarine (i.e. Earth Balance), melted canola oil
  • 1 c non-dairy milk (I used almond milk)

In a large bowl, mix all dry ingredients; in a separate bowl, mix all wet ingredients.  Add wet to dry and stir until batter is formed.  Spray a baking tin/muffin tin with cooking spray and evenly distribute batter.  Cook for 12-15 minutes (19-22 if making a loaf) at 425 degrees.

Look how good those look!

 

Now, not so much.  I’m no expert, but something tells me I took a wrong turn somewhere.

 

 

This was the most put-together piece of cornbread muffin I could savor

 

Looks can be deceiving, because they are still pret-ty tasty.  But I do recommend the original recipe.  This is me humbled

 

What’s your favorite chili combination?  Any other good crock pot recipes to share??

 

Responses

  1. Genius! Can’t wait to make this:) I love tempeh, especially with pumpkin, as I recently found out!

    • I just recently started eating/cooking with tempeh and I love it! Better than tofu I think


Leave a Reply

Categories

