Posted by: saramcglothlin | October 15, 2012

(Another) Banana Bread Recipe

I did a lot of baking yesterday…please excuse the fact that this includes No-Bake Chocolate Protein Balls.  Maybe I should say I was in the kitchen for a good portion of the afternoon.  It soothes me.

Banana bread was definitely on my list of things to make as I had been letting these babies ripen all last week

I also had it in mind to make a chia version (duh) so after googling around, I came across this recipe.  I had no intention of making a vegan banana bread, but I’m pretty sure that’s what happened thanks to the use of a chia egg.

Ingredients (tweaked from FussFreeCooking)

  • 1 tbsp chia seeds + 3 tbsps water (mix together and let sit for at least 5-10 mins)
  • 2 overripe bananas, peeled
  • 2 tbsp organic maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/3 c chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a large bowl, mash together bananas and maple syrup.  Add chia egg.

Add coconut, flour, and baking powder and start mixing together while slowly adding the almond milk.  Fold in walnuts once batter is formed.  Spray a loaf pan with EVOO cooking spray, and evenly distribute batter.  Bake for 40-45 minutes, or until tester comes out clean.

The original recipe called for sugar, but I wanted this bread to be as low in sugar as possible.  After trying it this morning, it didn’t need it.  The coconut and maple sugar were enough!

It made for an awesome breakfast…especially following a spin class that kicked my butt.

I cut 3 “finger-like” slices and topped them with a thin spread of almond butter

I also had a small bowl of greek yogurt with 1/2 T of HW chia and some blueberries (which cost an arm at the grocery store now…ugh…worth it).

The good thing about this breakfast, is that it was very quick to throw together this morning.  The other good thing about this breakfast, is that I wasn’t hungry again until lunch. #rarelyhappens

Lunch

Green salad topped with a black bean patty, 1/2 avocado and a sweet potato on the side

 

I then hit the road for D.C.  I was demoing at the Whole Foods Foggy Bottom location and like always, it was so much fun.  On the drive up there, I snacked on an apple (not pictured) and an hour later finally tried the No-Bake Chocolate Protein Balls I made yesterday:

 

LOVED it!  I was honestly blown away by how good this tasted.  I will tell you that I am someone who doesn’t mind when things taste “healthy;” in fact, the health-nuttier the better in my opinion, but this tasted bad for you…good thing it’s not!

4 hours and a million conversations about Health Warrior chia later, I took advantage of what Whole Foods had to offer…

Dinner.

 

I got a cup of minestrone soup with an arugula salad topped with artichokes, feta, grape tomatoes, black olives, chick peas, and tahini tofu.

I’m hitting the hay…demoing is fun but tiring too.  Goodnight!

Have you ever tried chocolate protein powder?  Have you ever made something healthy but tastes naughty?

Leave a Reply

Categories

